Chiefs edge out Brumbies 19-6 to reach Super Rugby Pacific final

Brodie Retallick was the only try-scorer of the game
Brodie Retallick was the only try-scorer of the game
©Steve Haag

Chiefs 19-6 Brumbies, Hamilton

Chiefs managed to hold off Brumbies in a tight encounter as they sealed a 19-6 victory in the semi-final against Brumbies in Hamilton on Saturday.

They will now be locking horns with 11-time champions Crusaders in the final next week. This was also the second time in as many years, Brumbies made an exit in the semi-final stage.

There were plenty of kicking early in the game but it was the Chiefs, who got the first points of the game after Damian McKenzie kicked a penalty goal to start the proceedings. Brumbies had a chance to level the scores as the New Zealand side strayed off side but Jack Debreczeni's kick drifted wide.

Both the teams were desperate for the early advantage but the points were hard to come. Eventually after a 24 minute deadlock, Chiefs doubled their tally through McKenzie's three pointer after Tom Hooper infringed at a ruck.

As Debreczeni left the field for a Head Injury Assessment, Noah Lolesio came in as his replacement and helped Brumbies open their account with a 34th minute penalty goal making it 6-3. The Chiefs had a chance to extend the lead as Shaun Stevenson sped past the Brumbies defence but his pass to Emoni Narawa was off target resulting in a knock on.

With Brumbies poor in discipline, Chiefs decided against the penalty once again as Samisoni Taukei'aho picked and sped to the try line but was stopped by a couple of Brumbies defenders as the scoreline remained at 6-3 at the end of the opening half.

McKenzie with his third penalty kick in the 54th minute increased Chiefs' lead to 9-3 but with Lolesio kicking his second four minutes later the game remained evenly poised at 9-6.

The 72nd minute saw McKenzie kicked a terrific penalty goal from the halfway line before creating the line break for Brodie Retallick's try to steer Chiefs to the final.

Team line up:

Chiefs XV: Aidan Ross, Samisoni Taukei'aho, George Dyer, Brodie Retallick, Tupou Vaai, Samipeni Finau, Sam Cane (co-c), Luke Jacobson, Brad Weber (co-c), Damian McKenzie, Etene Nanai-Seturo, Anton Lienert-Brown, Alex Nankivell, Emoni Narawa, Shaun Stevenson

Reserves: Tyrone Thompson, Ollie Norris, John Ryan, Naitoa Ah Kuoi, Pita Gus Sowakula, Cortez Ratima, Josh Ioane, Rameka Poihipi

Brumbies XV: James Slipper, Lachlan Lonergan, Sefo Kautai, Nick Frost, Cadeyrn Neville, Rob Valetini, Tom Hooper, Pete Samu, Nic White (c), Jack Debreczeni, Ollie Sapsford, Tamati Tua, Len Ikitau, Andy Muirhead, Tom Wright

Reserves: Connal McInerney, Blake Schoupp, Rhys Van Nek, Darcy Swain, Luke Reimer, Ryan Lonergan, Noah Lolesio, Corey Toole