South Africa name 35-man training squad for upcoming international season

South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus has named his training squad
South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus has named his training squad
©Steve Haag

South Africa head coach Rassie Erasmus has named 11 uncapped players in the 35-man training squad for the upcoming international season.

Jordan Hendrikse, Quan Horn, Edwill van der Merwe, Morne van den Berg, Phepsi Buthelezi, Siya Masuku, Ethan Hooker, Ben-Jason Dixon, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, Neethling Fouche and Andre-Hugo Venter are the new comers named in the squad.

Jasper Wiese is currently on a six-week ban which will make him unavailable for the game against Wales on 22nd June along with Europe bound players as the fixture falls outside the traditional international window.

The squad also does not feature players from Bulls, who compete in the semi-final of the United Rugby Championship.

“We selected a group of players featuring a good mix of youth and experience, and in terms of the young players especially, we believe they have the potential to make the step-up to top international rugby,” said Erasmus.

“With the players based in Europe, the UK and Ireland not available for Wales, we anticipate that there will be a few players making their Test debuts in that match, but even for those who do not make the cut, having them in camp and getting the chance to work closely with them on the field will set them and the team in good stead as we prepare for this season and start laying the foundation for the 2027 World Cup in Australia,” he added.

South Africa training squad:

Forwards: Phepsi Buthelezi (Sharks), Joseph Dweba, Ben-Jason Dixon (both Stormers), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz), Eben Etzebeth (Sharks), Neethling Fouche (Stormers), Vincent Koch (Sharks), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears), Bongi Mbonambi, Ntuthuko Mchunu (both Sharks), Salmaan Moerat (Stormers), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat), Ox Nche (Sharks), Evan Roos (Stormers), Kwagga Smith (Blu Revs), Andre-Hugo Venter (Stormers), Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers).

Backs: Damian de Allende (Panasonic Wild Knights), Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins), Aphelele Fassi (Sharks), Jordan Hendrikse (Lions), Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (Stormers), Ethan Hooker (Sharks), Quan Horn (Lions), Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles), Manie Libbok (Stormers), Makazole Mapimpi, Siya Masuku (both Sharks), Handre Pollard (Leicester Tigers), Morne van den Berg, Edwill van der Merwe (both Lions), Grant Williams (Sharks)

South Africa Fixtures:

22nd June - South Africa v Wales, Twickenham Stadium
6th July - South Africa v Ireland, Loftus Versfeld
13th July - South Africa v Ireland, Hollywoodbets Kings Park
20th July - South Africa v Portugal, Free State Stadium