Scotland's Hamish Watson wins Six Nations Player of the Championship award

Hamish Watson had the second best carries in the tournament
Hamish Watson had the second best carries in the tournament

Scotland flanker Hamish Watson has been announced as the Six Nations Player of the Championship for the recently concluded 2021 edition.

This is the third time in the last six years a player from Scotland has gone on to claim the award after Stuart Hogg was named the Player of the Championship in 2016 and 2017.

Watson went on to overcome competition from Six Nations Wales duo Louis Rees-Zammit and Taulupe Faletau, Ireland pair Tadhg Beirne and Robbie Henshaw along with the France's 2020 award winner Antoine Dupont securing 35 per cent of the 125,000 votes.

With a try and an assist to his name, Watson also had made 55 successful tackles and finished the tournament second in most carries with a tally of 67 and played a pivotal role in the Dark Blues finishing fourth in the table with three victories from five games.

“I’m very surprised, obviously loads of top players were up for the award. I think when you do win something like that, it’s full credit to the team I’m in as well and to all of the guys who have won it previously," he told in a statement released by the Six Nations.

“It shows what good teams you’re playing for. The Scotland team we’re all playing in at the moment is a great team and we really believe we can achieve things in the next few years.

“We think we’re heading in the right direction and full credit to the whole team, because without them, boys can’t win these personal accolades.”

Six Nations chief executive Ben Morel congratulated Watson on winning the award and thanked everyone for making the tournament a success amid difficult situation prevailing due to Covid-19.

“Our heartfelt congratulations go to Hamish on a fantastic campaign in what was a superb year for Scotland. He is a player who gives absolutely everything on the field and that has clearly resonated with fans.

“It’s fantastic that alongside very strong television viewing we are seeing ever stronger engagement across all digital platforms.

"I want to extend my thanks to each and every fan who took the time to vote, and to everyone who is part of the Guinness Six Nations community for your contribution to making this a hugely enjoyable and successful Championship.”

Previous winners:

2004: Gordon D’Arcy – Ireland
2005: Martyn Williams – Wales
2006: Brian O’Driscoll – Ireland
2007: Brian O’Driscoll – Ireland
2008: Shane Williams – Wales
2009: Brian O’Driscoll – Ireland
2010: Tommy Bowe – Ireland
2011: Andrea Masi – Italy
2012: Dan Lydiate – Wales
2013: Leigh Halfpenny – Wales
2014: Mike Brown – England
2015: Paul O’Connell – Ireland
2016: Stuart Hogg – Scotland
2017: Stuart Hogg – Scotland
2018: Jacob Stockdale – Ireland
2019: Alun Wyn Jones – Wales
2020: Antoine Dupont – France