Match Report: Munster 25 - 23 Edinburgh

CJ Stander was one of the try-scorer for Munster
CJ Stander was one of the try-scorer for Munster

Munster 25-23 Edinburgh, Thomond Park

CJ Stander scored the decisive try in the 77th minute as Munster edged out Edinburgh 25-23 in the latest round of Pro14 at Thomond Park on Saturday.

Ben Healy making his second senior start impressed with 20 points as Munster are at the top of the Conference B table with Edinburgh at fifth with second successive defeat.

Healy started the proceedings with back to back penalties but indiscipline costed Munster as Mark Bennett crashed under the post for the opening try in the 12th minute and Jaco van der Walt followed with the conversion making it 6-7.

Healy with his third in the 20th minute once again seized the lead for Munster but following a good carry from Stuart McInally, Williem Nel dotted down around the half-hour and at the stroke of half-time Healy kicked his fourth penalty as the opening half ended with a 12-14 scoreline.

Van der Walt with a penalty in the second half increased Edinburgh's lead to five points but Healy reduced the deficit shortly with another three-pointer. The Scottish side suffered a setback as van der Walt was yellow-carded in the 57th minute for a high tackle on Healy as Munster fly-half kicked his sixth penalty goal making the scoreline 18-17.

A penalty apiece between Bennett and Van der Walt increased Edinburgh's lead to five points but Stander had other plants as his decisive try in the 77th minute helped Munster level the scores and Healy kicked a nerveless conversion to seal a thrilling win.

Munster: Haley, Conway, McHenry, Scannell, Gallagher, Healy, Casey; Loughman, Marshall, Ryan, Wycherley, Beirne, O'Donoghue, O'Donnell, Stander (capt).

Replacements: O'Byrne, Cronin, Salanoa, Coombes, Hodnett, Murray, Crowley, Goggin.

Edinburgh: Hoyland, Graham, Bennett, Taylor, Van der Merwe, Van der Walt, Groom; Sutherland, McInally, Nel, Toolis, Gilchrist, Ritchie, Watson, Haining.

Replacements: Willemse, Schoeman, Berghan, Davidson, Kunavula, Nutton, Chamberlain, Johnstone.