Match Report: Ospreys 12 - 24 Ulster

Jacob Stockdale scored the opening try for Ulster
Jacob Stockdale scored the opening try for Ulster

Ospreys 12-24 Ulster, Liberty Stadium

Ulster overcame a red-card to Iain Henderson as they defeated Ospreys 12-24 in the second round of Pro14 at Liberty Stadium.

This is second win for Ulster as they are second in Conference A behind Leinster with nine points while Ospreys are at fourth place.

Ospreys started the game with an unchanged side but they suffered early setback as the Irish side grabbed a pass from Ian Madigan to score the opening try in the 8th minute and John Cooney kicked the conversion to make it 0-7.

Ospreys bounced back with a penalty from Stephen Myler in the 22nd minute but Cooney negated his effort with a three-pointer 10 minutes later. At the stroke of half-time, Myler slotted another penalty kick as the opening half ended with a 6-10 scoreline.

Ulster extended their lead further with Marcel Coetzee dotting down early in the second half but back to back penalties from Myler helped Ospreys reduce the deficit to 12-17.

As the final 10 minutes kicked-off, Rob Lyttle sent an inside pass to Cooney as he scored a converted try which made the scoreline 12-24 but they had a scare with Henderson red-carded for a shoulder charge on Dan Evans but the home side could not quite capitalise on the advantage allowing the Irish side to complete a 12-point victory.

Team Line-up:

Ospreys starting XV: Dan Evans; Mat Protheroe, Owen Watkin, Kieran Williams, Luke Morgan; Stephen Myler, Rhys Webb; Nicky Smith, Sam Parry, Tom Botha, Adam Beard, Alun Wyn Jones, Olly Cracknell, Justin Tipuric (c), Morgan Morris.

Reserves: Dewi Lake, Rhodri Jones, Ma'afu Fia, Will Griffiths, Dan Lydiate, Harri Morgan, Josh Thomas, Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler.

Ulster starting XV: Jacob Stockdale; Matt Faddes, James Hume, Stewart Moore, Rob Lyttle; Ian Madigan, John Cooney; Jack McGrath, Rob Herring, Marty Moore, Alan O'Connor, Iain Henderson (capt), Matthew Rea, Marcus Rea, Marcell Coetzee.

Reserves: Adam McBurney, Eric O'Sullivan, Gareth Milasinovich, Kieran Treadwell, Greg Jones, David Shanahan, Louis Ludik, Sean Reidy.

Pro14 Points Table