Match Report: Benetton Treviso 25-37 Leinster

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen
Leinster head coach Leo Cullen

Benetton Treviso 25-37 Leinster, Stadio Comunale di Monigo

Defending champions Leinster continued their impressive form as they held Benetton Treviso 25-37 in the second round of Pro14 at Stadio Comunale di Monigo.

This is Leinster's second win from as many games in the season as they hold the top place in Conference A while Benetton are at the bottom of Conference B.

The opening exchanges saw Ross Byrne and Paolo Garbisi trade penalties as the scores were levelled before the Leinster fly-half kicked another three-pointer to put the visitors in front.

The home side were reduced to 14-men temporarily when Iliesa Ratuva Tavuyara was yellow-carded in the 11th minute but despite that, a penalty from Garbisi put Benetton back into the lead.

Leinster eventually made use of the numerical advantage with James Tracy dotting down followed by a conversion from Byrne making the scoreline 6-13.

As the half-hour mark was approaching, Leinster were punished for infringement with James Ryan yellow-carded but the next few minutes saw Sebastian Negri and James Lowe trade tries as the opening half ended with a 13-20 scoreline.

Epalahame Faiva applied more pressure on the visitors with his try early in the second half but in the 56th minute Leinster were awarded a penalty try and Byrne followed with another penalty to make the scoreline 18-30.

Even though Giovanni Pettinelli provided some hope for Benetton with a try in the 74th minute, his effort was negated with Ross Molony finishing for Leinster as they sealed a 12-point win.

Team line-up:

Leinster starting XV: Keenan; Larmour, Ringrose, Henshaw, Lowe; R Byrne, Gibson-Park; E Byrne, Tracy, Bent, Baird, Ryan; Doris, Connors, Conan.

Reserves: Cronin, Healy, Clarkson, Molony, Ruddock, McGrath, H Byrne, O'Brien.

Benetton starting XV: Hayward; Tavuyara, Morisi, Zanon, Ioane; Garbisi, Duvenage; Traore, Faivi, Pasquali, Herbst, Snyman; Negri, Steyn, Halafihi.

Reserves: Luchessi, Quaglio, Ferrari, Cannone, Ruzza, Pettinelli, Braley, Padovani.

Pro14 Points Table