Wasps edge out Exeter in final to clinch Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series

Exeter Chiefs 28 (Bodilly 3, Simmonds) - 31 Wasps (Thompson, Halai, Howe, Wade, Cruse), Ricoh Arena

Wasps successfully overcame a triple try from Max Bodilly as they clinched the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series after defeating Exeter Chiefs in the final by 31-28 at the Ricoh Arena.

The game saw both teams exchanging leads throughout and in the end it was Tom Cruse's decisive try that bagged the championship for Wasps for the first time in eight years. It was Wasps previous season's Singha 7s skipper Guy Thompson and Frank Halai, who opened the account for the home team before Bodilly touched down twice, leading into the half-time.

Tom Howe scored the third try in the game for the Wasps which was soon negated by Chiefs skipper Sam Simmonds. While England flier Christian Wade tried to seize the initiative for Wasps, the Chiefs responded with a try of their own with Bodilly scoring his third in the game.

Just when the spectators were put to the edge of their seat, Cruse sealed the game for Wasps with the final try ensuring a 31-28 victory.

Cardiff Blues, who lost to Sale Sharks in the Cup quarter-finals, went on to defeat Northampton Saints 40-10 and later defeated Harlequins 28-22 to win the Plate final.

The Women's edition of the tournament was won by Saracens as they defeated Bristol in the final by 29-7.