Saracens claim Premiership Rugby Shield with 14-55 win over Newcastle

Matt Gallagher was one of the try-scorers in the final
Matt Gallagher was one of the try-scorers in the final

Newcastle Falcons 14-55 Saracens Storm

Saracens have extended their dominance this season as they went on to beat Newcastle Falcons 14-55 in the final to clinch the Premiership Rugby Shield title.

Tom Whiteley started the proceedings for the Storm with an early try. The visitors doubled their tally with Whiteley once again playing a pivotal role in sending Joel Kpoku over the line.

The Storm thought they had their third with Elliott Obatoyinbo racing over but was stopped by Ben Stevenson with the Falcons centre forcing a knock-on. Nevertheless, it was a matter of moments before they had their third with Whiteley's offload found Charlie Watson as he dotted down.

Just as the first half was about to end, the Falcons found a breakthrough with Jamie Blamire strolling over the line but Saracens ensured there was no momentum for the hosts whatsoever with Rotimi Segun scoring an early second half try.

Glen Young scored a consolation try for the Falcons but there was no coming back for the hosts with Whiteley, Watson and Segun scoring their second while Matt Gallagher ensured the Storm went past the 50-point mark.

The Sarries recently were crowned the European champions when they went on to beat Leinster Rugby 10-20 in the final while they are also second in the Gallagher Premiership table behind Exeter Chiefs.

Premiership Rugby - Points Table