Racing 92's Leone Nakarawa wins European Player of the Year award for 2018

Leone Nakarawa in action while representing Glasgow Warriors previously
Leone Nakarawa in action while representing Glasgow Warriors previously

Fiji international Leone Nakarawa has been named EPCR European Player of the Year 2018 for leading his side Racing 92 into the final of the Champions Cup where they were edged out by Leinster at San Mames Stadium.

Over 21,000 votes were registered since the end of the January when the nominees were named and the outcome was announced after taking into consideration public vote and the verdict of a panel of renowned rugby experts.

The 30-year-old edged out his club team-mate Maxime Machenaud to win the award which also had Leinster trio Scott Fardy, Tadhg Furlong and Johnny Sexton in the nominations.

Nakarawa was consistent throughout the tournament but his try in Racing 92's quarter-final victory over Clermont was named the best in the knockout rounds of the competition.

The panel of experts consisted of Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports/The Sunday Times), Chris Jones (BBC Radio 5 Live), Matthieu Lartot (France Televisions), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Brian O'Driscoll (BT Sport), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS).

Winners of European Player of the Year Awards:

2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O'Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O'Gara (Munster Rugby)


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table