Leinster beat Racing 92 15-12 to clinch fourth Champions Cup title

Johnny Sexton kicked three penalties
Johnny Sexton kicked three penalties

Leinster 15-12 Racing 92, San Mames Stadium

Leinster came from behind and managed to edge out Racing 92 15-12 in a thrilling final at San Mames Stadium on Saturday to clinch the European Champions Cup title.

This is Leinster's fourth Champions Cup triumph and now have levelled French giants Toulouse for most wins in the history of the tournament.

Racing 92 suffered an early setback in the game when Patrick Lambie left the field in the third minute due to a knee injury and was replaced by Remi Tales. Scrum half Teddy Iribaren playing in the place of Maxime Machenaud kicked a penalty goal in the fourth minute to begin the proceedings for the visitors.

Sexton kicked a penalty of his own in the 17th minute to help Leinster level the scores following which Iribaren and the British and Irish Lions international traded three-pointers as the teams went into the break with a 6-6 scoreline.

Iribaren once again got the French side into lead with his third penalty kick at the start of the second half but once again a swift response from Sexton in the 54th minute saw Leinster level the score 9-9.

The trend continued and when Iribaren kicked his fourth penalty goal with nine minutes left, it looked like Racing 92 would pull off a win but Nacewa, who is playing his final European game for Leinster before he heads into retirement kicked back to back penalties in the 74th and 79th minutes to help the Irish side complete a 15-12 victory.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table