Match Centre: Super Rugby Pacific: Chiefs 54-21 Western Force

Chiefs now have nine wins from 13 games
Chiefs now have nine wins from 13 games

Chiefs 54-21 Western Force, FMG Stadium Waikato

Quinn Tupaea scored a hat-trick while Samisoni Taukei'aho starred with a double as Chiefs registered a 54-21 win over Western Force in the latest round of the Super Rugby Pacific at FMG Stadium Waikato.

The Chiefs entered the match missing a host of players due to COVID-19 protocols, but still managed to get over the line as they are at fourth place in the table while Force are languishing at the 10th place after managing just two wins out of the 12 games.

The home side got off to a flying start as they raced to a 21-0 lead with Tupaea scoring twice while Aidan Ross crossed over in the 24th minute.

The Force pulled one back as Toni Pulu collected a pass from Jake McIntyre to touchdown in the 32nd minute and Ian Prior kicked the conversion to make it 21-7 at the end of the opening half.

Tupaea secured his hat-trick in the 46th minute when he fended off McIntyre to stroll over, and a burst from flyhalf Bryn Gatland three minutes later set up an impressive team try to fullback Kaleb Trask making it 33-7.

As Tupou Vaai and Jeremy Thrush exchanged tries, the Chiefs looked comfortable as they maintained their 26 point lead and that got better with Taukei'aho dotting down in the 56th minute. Michael McDonald provided some consolation for Force with a 73rd minute try, Chiefs had the last laugh as Taukei'aho completed his second to steer Chiefs to a 33 point defeat.

Team line up:

Chiefs: Aidan Ross, Bradley Slater, Angus Ta’avao, Samipeni Finau, Tupou Vaa’i, Pita Gus Sowakula, Sam Cane, Luke Jacobson, Brad Weber, Bryn Gatland, Chase Tiatia, Quinn Tupaea, Alex Nankivell, Emoni Narawa, Kaleb Trask

Reserves: Samisoni Taukei’aho, Josh Barlett, George Dyer, Hamilton Burr, Mitch Brown, Xavier Roe, Inga Finau, Rameka Poihipi

Western Force: Tom Robertson, Feleti Kaitu’u, Santiago Medrano, Ryan McCauley, Izack Rodda, Fergus Lee-Warner, Tim Anstee, Jackson Pugh, Ian Prior, Jake McIntyre, Toni Pulu, Reesjan Pasitoa, Kyle Godwin, Byron Ralston, Jake Strachan

Reserves: Andrew Ready, Angus Wagner, Bo Abra, Jeremy Thrush, Will Sankey, Michael McDonald, Richard Kahui, Brad Lacey