Match Centre: Gallagher Premiership: Saracens 10-20 Sale Sharks

George Ford kicked two conversions and penalties apiece
George Ford kicked two conversions and penalties apiece

Saracens 10-20 Sale Sharks, StoneX Stadium

Sale Sharks progressed to the play-offs of the Gallagher Premiership as they defeated Saracens 20-10 at the StoneX Stadium on Saturday.

This was a fifth straight win for Sale as they finished third in the competition and will now take on Bath in the play-offs while Saracens, who finished fourth in the table, will be locking horns with Northampton at cinch Stadium @ Franklin's Gardens.

Elliot Daly missed an early penalty goal for Saracens after Sale Sharks infringed at the scrum before Manu Tuilagi had to leave the field in the 17th minute after suffering a hamstring injury.

Sale opened their account in the 22nd minute when Tom Roebuck spotted some space and went past three defenders to touchdown and George Ford kicked the conversion to make it 0-7 after an cagey opening.

As Saracens earned a penalty at the breakdown, Owen Farrell converted in the 25th minute but his effort was negated with Ford kicking a three-pointer of his own on the stroke of half time to ensure the teams completed the opening half with a 3-10 scoreline.

Sale started the second half briskly with Ford kicking a penalty goal before Rob du Preez intercepted and had a clear run to the line which Ford converted to make it 3-20 to Sale.

Mark McCall's men clawed their way back into the game on the 65th minute as Marco Riccioni dived over from close range and Farrell kicked the extras to make it 10-20 but they could not add anything more to their tally as Sale completed a crucial win to make it to the top four.

Team line-ups:

Saracens: Daly, Lewington, Cinti, Tompkins, Parton, Farrell, van Zyl, M Vunipola, George, Judge, Itoje, Tizard, Gonzalez, Earl, Willis.

Replacements: Dan, Mawi, Riccioni, Isiekwe, McFarland, B Vunipola, Davies, Goode.

Sale: Carpenter, Roebuck, R du Preez, Tuilagi, O’Flaherty, Ford, Warr, Rodd, Cowan-Dickie, Harper, Wiese, Andrews, Curry (c), Dugdale, JL du Preez.

Replacements: Taylor, McIntyre, John, Bamber, van Rhyn, Quirke, James, Reed.

Widely regarded as the most competitive rugby union league in the can only be the Gallagher Premiership.

The division is becoming more and more exciting as each year passes by so who will be lifting silverware at Twickenham in May?

At Talking Rugby Union, we aim to provide match reports and news together with our specially commissioned features and interviews.