Match Centre: Gallagher Premiership: Newcastle 12-50 Saracens

Alex Lewington was one of the try-scorer for Saracens
Alex Lewington was one of the try-scorer for Saracens
©Steve Haag

Newcastle Falcons 12-50 Saracens, Kingston Park

Saracens came up with a seven-try riot as they trounced Newcastle Falcons 50-12 in the latest round of the Gallagher Premiership at Kingston Park on Sunday.

This is third successive win for Saracens in five games as they moved to the sixth place in the table with 14 points while Newcastle are languishing at the bottom after losing all their five matches.

Newcastle were the first to open the account as they attacked through the phases with eventually Sebastian de Chaves going over the line and Brett Connon kicked the conversion to make it 7-0. However, their momentum was hampered with full-back Elliott Obatoyinbo sin binned for a deliberate knock on.

With the numerical advantage on their side, Saracens bounced back as Theo Dan making his first start of the season touched down at the back of a rumbling maul and shortly Elliot Daly followed the suit in the 25th minute.

Around the half-hour mark, Saracens got their third try with this time Dan and Daly combined to send Alex Lewington over the line before Dan completed his second when he crashed in the corner at the stroke of half-time to claim the bonus point. Alex Lozowski kicked all four conversions to perfection as Mark McCall's men completed the opening half with a 7-28 lead.

Saracens were the quickest to get off the block in the second half with Lozowski kicking a penalty goal Bryan Byrne dotted down from a maul for their second try making it 12-31. The end of the third quarter saw Tom Willis bulldozed his way over but Lozowski's conversion drifted wide.

The 63rd minute saw Ollie Stonham sin-binned for a high tackle but further tries from Juan-Martin Gonzalez and Manu Vunipola ensured Saracens reached the 50-point mark.

Team line up:

Newcastle: Obatoyinbo; Radwan, Orlando, Jennings, Stephens; Connon, O'Sullivan; Brocklebank, Blamire, Bello, Rubiolo, de Chaves, Lockwood, Cross, Chick (capt).

Reserves: Byrne, Brantingham, McCallum, Hawkins, van der Walt, Stuart, Hutchison, Stevenson.

Saracens: Daly; Maitland, Lozowski, Tompkins, Lewington; Goode (capt), van Zyl; Mawi, Dan, Clarey, Stonham, Tizard, Gonzalez, Christie, Willis.

Reserves: Hadfield, West, Judge, Knight, B Vunipola, Simpson, M Vunipola, Cinti.

Widely regarded as the most competitive rugby union league in the can only be the Gallagher Premiership.

The division is becoming more and more exciting as each year passes by so who will be lifting silverware at Twickenham in May?

At Talking Rugby Union, we aim to provide match reports and news together with our specially commissioned features and interviews.