France dominate Six Nations team of the tournament

Antonie Dupont was named the player of the Championship
Antonie Dupont was named the player of the Championship
©Steve Haag

France have dominated the Six Nations team of Championship selected by a public vote of 60,000 in total.

For winning the Six Nations title and a Grand Slam for the first time since 2010, the Les Bleus have 11 players in the list including Damian Penaud, Antonie Dupont, Gael Fickou, Jonathan Danty, Gabin Villiere, Romain Ntamack, Cyril Baille, Julien Marchand, Paul Willemse, Francois Cros and Gregory Alldrit.

Tadhg Furlong, Josh van der Flier and Hugo Keenan are the three players from Ireland to make it to the XV while Maro Itoje remains the solitary England player with no players from Wales, Scotland and Italy making the cut.

Meanwhile, Dupont was also voted the Six Nations Player of the Championship for the second time in his career after winning the award in 2020 previously. In the process, the France captain also became only the third player after former Ireland centre Brian O’Driscoll to win the award more than once.

Six Nations Team of Championship:

15. Hugo Keenan (Ireland); 14. Damian Penaud (France), 13. Gael Fickou (France), 12. Jonathan Danty (France), 11. Gabin Villiere (France); 10. Romain Ntamack (France), 9. Antoine Dupont (France); 1. Cyril Baille (France), 2. Julien Marchand (France), 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland); 4. Maro Itoje (England), 5. Paul Willemse (France); 6. Francois Cros (France), 7. Josh van der Flier (Ireland), 8. Gregory Alldrit (France).