Dave Rennie names 16 uncapped players in Australia's Rugby Championship squad

Dave Rennie has confirmed the Australian squad
Dave Rennie has confirmed the Australian squad

Australia head coach Dave Rennie has named 16 uncapped players in the 44-man squad for the upcoming Rugby Championship tournament.

Queensland Reds duo Harry Wilson and Fraser McReight along with Tate McDermott and Hunter Paisami are part of the squad that also has four players competing for the fly-half role including Matt Toomua, James O’Connor, Will Harrison and Noah Lolesio.

"We've picked this squad on form and on potential and I know the whole group are chomping at the bit to get stuck in and push their case for a Wallaby jersey," said Rennie.

"When we picked the squad, we had to consider how we will handle the rigours of the Test calendar ahead.

"It is obviously a big squad which is due to COVID restrictions, as we can't bring players in and out, but each of one them is there on merit."

Australia had a tough time since they reached the final of the 2015 World Cup as they slipped to the seventh place in World Rugby Rankings and they have not played a game since their quarter-final exit in last year's World Cup.

Australia's squad:

Jermaine Ainsley, Allan Alaalatoa, Tom Banks, Angus Bell, Filipo Daugunu, Pone Fa'amausili, Folau Fainga'a, Jake Gordon, Ned Hanigan, Will Harrison, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Michael Hooper, Tom Horton, Trevor Hosea, Len Ikitau, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Marika Korobiete, Noah Lolesio, Jack Maddocks, Tate McDermott, Fraser McReight, James O'Connor, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia, Matt Philip, Joe Powell, James Ramm, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Pete Samu, Rob Simmons, Irae Simone, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Lachie Swinton, Matt To'omua, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese, Rob Valetini, Nic White, Harry Wilson, Liam Wright, Tom Wright.