Bath Rugby confirm squad for 2021/22 season

Bath director of rugby Stuart Hooper
Bath director of rugby Stuart Hooper
©Steve Haag

Bath Rugby have unveiled the squad for the upcoming 20201/22 season.

England international Danny Cipriani has joined the club from Gloucester along with South African back row Jaco Coetzee and Johannes Jonker and D’Arcy Rae.

The four players will be joined by Academy Graduates Will Butt, Arthur Cordwell and Kieran Verden, who have been promoted to the first ahead of the new season. Jonathan Joseph continue to remain with the club despite there were reports of Toulon showing interest in signing the 30-year-old.

“We are very excited by the new additions to the squad,” Director of Rugby Stuart Hooper said.

“They all complement our current structure whilst adding real excitement to what we are trying to achieve as a group.”

On the Academy graduates, Hooper said: “They (Will, Arthur and Kieran) are a great example of the hard work and dedication the Academy staff invest into young people every season and we’re looking forward to them thriving in the senior environment.”

David Williams will rejoin Bath as new Attack and Backs Coach replacing Girvan Dempsey.


Ross Batty (retired), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow), Christian Judge (Worcester), Rhys Priestland (Cardiff), Zach Mercer (Montpellier), Elliott Stooke (Wasps), Jack Walker, Will Chudley, Henry Thomas.

Hooper also went on to thank the departing players for their contribution to the club over the years.

“I would like to thank each of our nine departing players, and Girvan, for their unrelenting effort and commitment throughout their time at the club,” Hooper said.

“They are all fantastic people who have been a pleasure to work with and I wish all of them the very best of luck for what lies ahead.”

Bath Squad for 2021/22 season:

Tom Doughty, Jacques du Toit, Tom Dunn, Lewis Boyce, Arthur Cordwell, Johannes Jonker, Beno Obano, Juan Schoeman, D’Arcy Rae, Will Stuart, Will Vaughan, Kieran Verden, Charlie Ewels, Josh McNally, Will Spencer, Josh Bayliss, Jaco Coetzee, Tom Ellis, Taulupe Faletau, Miles Reid, Sam Underhill, Mike Williams, Ollie Fox, Max Green, Ben Spencer, Danny Cipriani, Tian Schoeman, Will Butt, Max Clark, Jonathan Joseph, Josh Matavesi, Cameron Redpath, Max Wright, Darren Atkins, Joe Cokanasiga, Tom de Glanville, Gabriel Hamer-Webb, Ruaridh McConnochie, Semesa Rokoduguni, Anthony Watson, Will Muir, Alex Gray

Widely regarded as the most competitive rugby union league in the can only be the Gallagher Premiership.

The division is becoming more and more exciting as each year passes by so who will be lifting silverware at Twickenham in May?

At Talking Rugby Union, we aim to provide match reports and news together with our specially commissioned features and interviews.