Winless Chiefs make changes for Crusaders game

Warren Gatland has been enduring tough time with Chiefs
Warren Gatland has been enduring tough time with Chiefs

Chiefs head coach Warren Gatland has confirmed the match day squad for the eighth round of the Super Rugby Aotearoa clash against Crusaders to be played at FMG Stadium Waikato on Saturday.

Solomon Alaimalo's shoulder injury meant Sean Wainui moves from right to left wing with Shaun Stevenson taking the number 14 jersey.

Aaron Cruden on what will be his 100th appearance for the Chiefs will start at fly-half replacing Kaleb Trask as Chiefs aim to end their losing streak after facing six successive defeats.

Angus Ta’avao is set for his first Super Rugby Aotearoa appearance after being named on the bench where he will be joined by Naitoa Ah Kuoi and Simon Parker.

Chiefs starting line-up: 15 Damian McKenzie 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Sam Cane (c), 6 Lachlan Boshier, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Tupou Vaa’i, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Bradley Slater, 1 Reuben O’Neill

Reserves: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Simon Parker, 21 Lisati Milo-Harris, 22 Kaleb Trask, 23 Quinn Tupaea

Super Rugby Points Table