Richard Wigglesworth to start for Leicester in Premiership final against Saracens

Richard Wigglesworth has played 36 times for Leicester Tigers
Richard Wigglesworth has played 36 times for Leicester Tigers

Leicester Tigers head coach Steve Borthwick has named Richard Wigglesworth in the starting line for the Gallagher Premiership final against Saracens to be played at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

Wigglesworth will take the place of Ben Youngs, who now drops to the bench. Chris Ashton comes at right wing with Harry Porter at left and Freddie Steward is retained at fullback.

The midfield sees Guy Porter joining Matias Moroni at midfield while George Ford will be looking to sign off from the Tigers stint with a win and will form halfback partnership with Wigglesworth.

The front row sees no change but Ollie Chessum comes in the second row along with Calum Green. The trio of Dan Cole, George Ford and Ben Youngs the only members from the club’s last outing in a decider nine seasons ago.

Meanwhile, Mako Vunipola will make his 200th appearance for Saracens in the final with lock Nick Isiekwe replacing Tim Swinson, who misses out on selection on what was supposed to be his final game.

Leicester Tigers: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Guy Porter, 11 Harry Potter. 10 George Ford, 9 Richard Wigglesworth; 1 Ellis Genge (c), 2 Julián Montoya, 3 Dan Cole, 4 Ollie Chessum, 5 Calum Green, 6 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Tommy Reffell, 8 Jasper Wiese

Reserves: 16 Charlie Clare, 17 Nephi Leatigaga, 18 Joe Heyes, 19 Harry Wells, 20 George Martin, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 Matt Scott

Saracens:15 Alex Goode, 14 Max Malins, 13 Elliot Daly , 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Owen Farrell (c), 9 Aled Davies; 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Jamie George, 3 Vincent Koch, 4 Maro Itoje, 5 Nick Isiekwe, 6 Theo McFarland, 7 Ben Earl, 8 Billy Vunipola

Reserves: 16 Kapeli Pifeleti, 17 Eroni Mawi, 18 Alec Clarey, 19 Jackson Wray, 20 Andy Christie, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Duncan Taylor, 23 Alex Lozowski