Owen Farrell and Billy Vunipola return to England side for Twickenham game against Wales

Owen Farrell returns as England captain
Owen Farrell returns as England captain

England head coach Steve Borthwick has made 11 changes to the side ahead of their second World Cup warm-up fixture against Wales at Twickenham Stadium.

Owen Farrell return as captain and will take the fly-half position with Marcus Smith dropping out of the matchday 23 squad. George Ford will continue to provide cover from the bench.

Scrum-half Jack van Poortvliet will link up with Farrell replacing Danny Care while Elliot Daly is named on the left wing with Henry Arundell at right. Freddie Steward retains his position at fullback with Ollie Lawrence joining Joe Marchant at midfield.

In a new look back-row, Saracens star Billy Vunipola starts at number eight with vice-captain Courtney Lawes named at blindside along with Ben Earl on the openside.

George Martin retains his place at second row and is joined by Maro Itoje while Jamie George returns to front row that also has Will Stuart and Joe Marler. Ellis Genge, who captained them in the previous game in Cardiff is on the bench that also has Ford, Theo Dan, Dan Cole, Jack Willis, Ben Youngs, Jonny Hill and Max Malins.

“We’re very much looking forward to our return to Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, and the opportunity to play in front of our supporters again,” said England head coach Steve Borthwick.

“England versus Wales is always a special fixture, and we are pleased to be playing the visitors again so soon.

“We’re delighted for Ellis, who will win his 50th cap from the bench. He’s a brilliant professional, both on and off the field, and I’m sure Saturday will be a very proud moment for him and his family.”

England XV: Freddie Steward, Henry Arundell, Joe Marchant, Ollie Lawrence, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell (c), Jack van Poortvliet; Joe Marler, Jamie George, Will Stuart, Maro Itoje, George Martin, Courtney Lawes, Ben Earl, Billy Vunipola.

Reserves: Theo Dan, Ellis Genge, Dan Cole, Jonny Hill, Jack Willis, Ben Youngs, George Ford, Max Malins.