Tom Pearson to debut for England against Wales

England head coach Steve Borthwick
England head coach Steve Borthwick

England head coach Steve Borthwick has named uncapped Northampton Saints back row Tom Pearson in the starting line up for the upcoming Rugby World Cup warm-up game against Wales to be played in Cardiff.

Pearson will start at openside linking up with his club team-mate Lewis Ludlam at blindside with Alex Dombrandt completing the back-row. Apart from Pearson, Theo Dan and Tom Willis are also in line to make their debut for England after being named on the bench.

Max Malins will be the only player who featured in the Premiership final victory for Saracens as he starts at right wing with Joe Cokanasiga at left. Joe Marchant will be partnering with Guy Porter in a new look midfield combination while Freddie Steward has been slotted at fullback.

Harlequins duo Danny Care and Marcus Smith form halfback partnership while David Ribbans joins George Martin in the second row.

Borthwick has handed the captaincy to Ellis Genge, who is joined by hooker Jamie Blamire and Will Stuart in the front row with Bevan Rodd, Kyle Sinckler, Jonny Hill, Jack van Poortvliet, George Ford and Henry Slade completing the rest of the matchday squad.

“England versus Wales in Cardiff is always an exciting and keenly contested fixture,” said Borthwick.

“I am sure this Saturday will be no different as a tremendous first Test match of the Summer Nations Series.

“We have been impressed with how the whole squad has applied itself both on and off the field over this training camp.

"We are now looking forward to returning to Test match rugby as we continue our preparations for the Rugby World Cup in France.”

Borthwick will confirm his 33-man squad for the World Cup in France on Monday.

England XV: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Max Malins, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Guy Porter, 11 Joe Cokanasiga, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Danny Care, 8 Alex Dombrandt, 7 Tom Pearson, 6 Lewis Ludlam, 5 George Martin, 4 David Ribbans, 3 Will Stuart, 2 Jamie Blamire, 1 Ellis Genge (c)

Reserves: 16 Theo Dan, 17 Bevan Rodd, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Jonny Hill, 20 Tom Willis, 21 Jack van Poortvliet, 22 George Ford, 23 Henry Slade