Match Report: Rugby Championship: Australia 5-43 New Zealand

Richie Mo'unga kicked 23 points
Richie Mo'unga kicked 23 points

Australia 5-43 New Zealand, ANZ Stadium

New Zealand have retained the Bledisloe Cup for the 18th consecutive year as they defeated Australia 43-5 in the Rugby Championship opener at ANZ Stadium on Saturday.

Australia were reduced to 14-men temporarily in the fourth minute when Filipo Daugunu was yellow carded for a tackle on Caleb Clarke in the air in the fourth minute and two minutes later the All Blacks opened their account with Karl Tu’inukuafe dotting down and Richie Mo'unga followed with the conversion.

In the 10th minute, it was New Zealand's turn to lose a player temporarily with Jordie Barrett sin-binned for striking Dane Haylett-Petty with a elbow. The All Blacks thought they scored their second try with Coles and Aaron Smith sending Clarke over the line but was stopped by a slide from Marika Koroibete.

Mo'unga ensured New Zealand increased their lead further as he went past Brandon Paenga-Amosa and Noah Lolesio to dot down in the 22nd minute and six minute later he scored his second as the scoreline became 0-19.

New Zealand pressed the accelerator and ensured they finished the first half with a 0-26 lead following Dane Coles' try and Mo'unga kicked the extras.

Australia finally managed to get a breakthrough with Lolesio's try early in the second half but that were the only points they managed in the game. A penalty goal from Mo'unga increased New Zealand's lead to 5-29 before further tries from Reiko Ioane (72') and Jordie Barrett (75') sealed them a 5-43 win despite losing Shannon Frizell to yellow card in the closing stage.

Teams line-up:

Australia: Haylett-Petty; Daugunu, Petaia, Simone, Koroibete; Lolesio, White; Slipper, Paenga-Amosa, Alaalatoa, Salakaia-Loto, Philip, Hanigan, Hooper, Wilson.

Reserves: Uelese, Sio, Tupou, Simmons, McReight, McDermott, Hodge, Paisami.

New Zealand: B. Barrett; J. Barrett, Liernert-Brown, Goodhue, Clarke; Mo'unga, Smith; Tuinukuafe, Coles, Tu'ungafasi, Tuipulotu, Whitelock, Frizzel, Cane, Sotutu.

Reserves: Taylor, Hodgman, Lomax, S. Barrett, Papali'i, Perenara, Laumape, Ioane.