Match Report: Pro14: Glasgow 19-32 Leinster

Leinster registered their 23rd win in Pro14
Leinster registered their 23rd win in Pro14

Glasgow 19-32 Leinster, Scotstoun Stadium

Defending champions Leinster maintained their perfect run in the ongoing Pro14 season as they went on to beat Glasgow Warriors 19-32 at Scotstoun Stadium on Monday.

Leinster now have 20 points from four games to take the top place in Conference A while Glasgow are at fourth place after facing their third defeat.

It took Leinster just 11 minutes to get their first points on the board after Jimmy O'Brien made most of the pass from Harry Byrne to score the opening try. Byrne kicked the conversion to take the visitors to a seven-point lead.

Glasgow went on to level the scores in the 17th minute after George Horne dotted down that Pete Horne improved before Byrne's penalty goal in the 22nd minute to give Leinster a three-point lead.

A quick tap response from Luke McGrath saw him score Leinster's second try in the 28th minute and nine minutes later Scott Penny scored at the back of a driving maul as the Irish side headed into the break with a 7-22 lead.

A line break from Niko Matawalu set up D'arcy Rae over the line in the 43rd minute but their momentum suffered a setback as Huw Jones was yellow-carded in the 53rd minute for an infringement and immediately Leinster responded with the numerical advantage on their side as Michael Bent touched down making the scoreline 14-29.

The final nine minutes saw Leinster reduced to 14-men with Cian Kelleher yellow-carded and Glasgow had some hope with Thomas Gordon's try but could not find any more breakthrough. Byrne with a penalty goal in the 77th minute ensured Leinster completed a 13-point victory and a 23rd consecutive win in Pro14.

Teams line-up:

Glasgow Warriors: Aki Seiuli, Grant Stewart, D'arcy Rae, Rob Harley, Hamish Bain, Ryan Wilson, Tom Gordon, TJ Ioane, George Horne, Pete Horne, Niko Matawalu, Sam Johnson, Nick Grigg, Tommy Seymour, Huw Jones,

Reserves: George Turner, Alex Allan, Enrique Pieretto, Chris Fusaro, Fotu Lokotui, Jamie Dobie, Brandon Thomson, Ratu Tagive.

Leinster: Jimmy O'Brien, Cian Kelleher, Rory O'Loughlin, Tommy O'Brien, Dave Kearney, Harry Byrne, Luke McGrath, Peter Dooley, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Devin Toner, Josh Murphy, Scott Penny, Rhys Ruddock.

Reserves: Dan Sheehan, Michael Milne, Tom Clarkson, Jack Dunne, Scott Fardy, Hugh O'Sullivan, David Hawkshaw, Dan Leavy.