Match Centre: Super Rugby Pacific: Force 15-53 Crusaders

Will Jordan scored a hat-trick for Crusaders
Will Jordan scored a hat-trick for Crusaders
©Steve Haag

Western Force 15-53 Crusaders, HBF Park

Leicester Faingaanuku and Will Jordan scored hat-tricks as Crusaders trounced Western Force 53-15 in the latest round of the Super Rugby Pacific at HBF Park.

This is seventh win for Crusaders in 11 games as they break into the top four while Western Force are at 10th position.

The Force also suffered a late blow after in-form winger Manasa Mataele and former All Black Richard Kahui were ruled out due to the head injury assessment protocols.

Jake Strachan started the proceedings for Western Force with a sixth minute penalty goal but Faingaanuku dived from close range in the 12th minute for the opening try. A perfectly weighed kick from Kyle Godwin allowed Strachan to dot down for the hosts in the 16th minute but Faingaanuku touched down in the corner while he was being pushed into touch by Godwin making it 8-13.

With the break approaching, Faingaanuku went on to complete a hat-trick as they visitors completed the opening half with a lead of 10 points.

Force flanker Fergus Lee-Warner touched down early in the second half to reduce the deficit down to three points but Pablo Matera responded back for Crusaders when he crossed the whitewash in the 46th minute.

Any chance of a Force comeback was put off with Jordan completing a hat-trick between 50th and 71st minutes before George Bell also went over the line in the added minutes to complete a convincing win for the New Zealand side.

"They're a classy outfit. If you want to compete against them, you have to have an 80-minute performance," said Force stand-in captain Kyle Godwin said.

"We weren't too bad in the first half. But we rested on our laurels there and got punched in the second half.

"It's disappointing. It's back to the drawing board again."

Team line up:

Western Force: 15 Jake Strachan, 14 Byron Ralston, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Bayley Kuenzle, 11 Manasa Mataele, 10 Reesjan Pasitoa, 9 Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, 8 Tim Anstee, 7 Ollie Callan, 6 Fergus Lee-Warner, 5 Izack Rodda, 4 Ryan McCauley, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Feleti Kaitu’u (captain), 1 Tom Robertson

Reserves: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Angus Wagner, 18 Bo Abra, 19 Jeremy Thrush, 20 Alex Masibaka, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Jake McIntyre, 23 Richard Kahui

Crusaders: 15 Will Jordan, 14 George Bridge, 13 Braydon Ennor, 12 David Havili (captain), 11 Leicester Fainga’anuku, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Sione Havili Talitui , 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Cullen Grace, 3 Fletcher Newell, 2 Ricky Jackson, 1 Tamaiti Williams

Reserves: 16 George Bell, 17 Seb Calder, 18 George Bower, 19 Liam Hallam-Earnes, 20 Tom Christie, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi 22 Fergus Burke, 23 Chay Fihaki