Match Centre: Super Rugby Pacific: Blues 34-10 Fijian Drua

Reiko Ioane was part of the winning Blues side
Reiko Ioane was part of the winning Blues side
©Steve Haag

Blues 34-10 Fijian Drua, Semenoff Stadium, Whangarei

Hoskins Sotutu and Zarn Sullivan scored doubles as Blues trounced Fijian Drua with a 34-10 victory in their opening game of the Super Rugby Pacific at Semenoff Stadium in Whangarei.

Blues opened their account in the 10th minute as Sotutu powered his way over after Blues set up the maul but Stephen Perofeta's conversion drifted wide. They extended the lead further in the 15th minute as Caleb Clarke picked up in front of the posts to touchdown for their second try. Perofeta landed the conversion this time to make it 12-0.

The New Zealand side further stepped up the lead as they won another penalty advantage and defeated the Fijian defenders with eventually Sullivan went over the line for their third try but Perofeta missed out on a difficult conversion.

Fijian Drua eventually got their first points in the 31st minute as Christie rolls the ball into the scrum and Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula kicked the penalty goal to make it 17-3 but skipper Dalton Papalii extended the lead further as Blues passed the ball wide before Telea fed the flanker for the bonus point try.

At the stroke of half time, the visitors were down to 14 players temporarily as Armstrong-Ravula was sin-binned for holding on and Blues made use of the numerical advantage with Sotutu completing his second try helping Blues extend their lead to 29-3 at the end of the opening half.

Blues lost Christie to yellow card early in the second half as he was penalised for offside prior to Leone Rotuisolia's try and Isikeli Rabitu landed the conversion to make the scoreline 29-10.

The start of the final quarter saw Blues secure their sixth try as Telea sent a wide pass for Sullivan to dive in the corner as they completed a 34-10 victory.

Team line up:

Blues: 15 Zarn Sullivan, 14 Mark Tele'a, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Harry Plummer, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Stephen Perofeta, 9 Finlay Christie, 8 Hoskins Sotutu, 7 Dalton Papali'i (c), 6 Anton Segner, 5 Josh Beehre, 4 Sam Darry, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 Kurt Eklund, 1 Joshua Fusitu'a

Reserves: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Jordan Lay, 18 Marcel Renata, 19 Laghlan McWhannell, 20 Adrian Choat, 21 Sam Nock, 22 AJ Lam, 23 Cole Forbes

Fijian Drua: 15 Isikeli Rabitu, 14 Epeli Momo, 13 Iosefo Masi, 12 Apisalome Vota, 11 Selestino Ravutaumada, 10 Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula, 9 Frank Lomani, 8 Meli Derenalagi (c), 7 Ella Canakaivata, 6 Etonia Waqa, 5 Leone Rotuisolia, 4 Isoa Nasilasila, 3 Mesake Doge, 2 Tevita Ikanivere, 1 Livai Natave

Reserves: 16 Mesulame Dolokoto, 17 Emosi Tuqiri, 18 Jone Koroiduadua, 19 Mesake Vocevoce, 20 Vilive Miramira, 21 Peni Matawalu, 22 Kemu Valetini, 23 Tudraki Samusamuvodre