Match Centre: London Irish 16-21 Leicester Tigers

George Ford contributed with 11 points
George Ford contributed with 11 points

London Irish 16-21 Leicester Tigers, Brentford Community Stadium

George Ford kicked two penalties in the final 10 minutes as Leicester Tigers edged out London Irish 21-16 in the fourth round of the Gallagher Premiership at Brentford Community Stadium.

This is fourth win for the Tigers in as many games as they maintained their position at the top while London Irish are at 11th place after losing their third game.

Leicester Tigers were the first to score the opening points in the game and it came in the 18th minute following a scrum penalty that allowed Nic Dolly to dot down at the back of a line out drive.

Ford missed out on the conversion but London Irish had the chance to open their account after the Tigers were penalised and Paddy Jackson kicked a three-pointer in the 26th minute making it 3-5.

Ford missed another kick in the 35th minute but Jackson kicked two three-pointers at either side of the break as the Exiles went into the 9-5 lead. The Tigers seized the lead back in the 48th minute as Hanro Liebenberg crashed from close range and Ford improved it as the scoreline became 9-12.

The 54th minute saw Agustin Creevy crash over at the back of a maul and Jackson's conversion meant the home side extended their lead to 16-12. The start of the final quarter saw Ford's penalty goal reducing the arrears of the Tigers to one point.

As the game entered the final 10 minutes with all the three results possible, Ford put the Tigers in front with his third three-pointer in the 71st minute and ensured there was no slip up with a drop goal in the 77th minute as they maintained their winning streak in the competition.

Team line up:

London Irish: Parton; Loader, Rona, Hepetema, Hassell-Collins; Jackson, Phipps; Goodrick-Clarke, Creevy, Van der Merwe, Mafi, Coleman, Rogerson, Donnell, Tuisue.

Reserves Cornish, Dell, Hoskins, Simmons, Nott, O'Brien, O'Sullivan, Van Rensburg.

Leicester: Steward; Potter, Scott, Socino, Nadolo; Ford, B Youngs; Genge, Dolly, Cole, Wells, Green, Martin, Reffell, Liebenberg.

Reserves: Montoya, Leatigaga, Heyes, Snyman, Van Staden, Wigglesworth, Burns, Porter.

Widely regarded as the most competitive rugby union league in the can only be the Gallagher Premiership.

The division is becoming more and more exciting as each year passes by so who will be lifting silverware at Twickenham in May?

At Talking Rugby Union, we aim to provide match reports and news together with our specially commissioned features and interviews.