Match Centre: Italy 17-29 Wales

Taulupe Faletau was one of the try-scorer for Wales
Taulupe Faletau was one of the try-scorer for Wales

Italy 17-29 Wales, Stadio Olimpico

Wales have registered their first win since Warren Gatland took in charge again as they defeated Italy 29-17 in the fourth round of the competition at Stadio Olimpico.

The result meant Wales and Italy have swapped places in the table to fifth and sixth positions respectively.

Owen Williams started the proceedings with a routine penalty goal in the 5th minute before they scored their opening try when a box kick from Rhys Webb allowed Rio Dyer to touchdown. Williams kicked the conversion to take Wales to a 0-10 lead.

Even though Tommaso Allan’s penalty goal got Italy their first points, Wales went on to extend their lead as Liam Williams capitalised on a pass from Taulupe Faletau to cross over but this time the conversion went wide making it 3-15.

Around the half-hour mark, Italy were down to 14 players temporarily when Lorenzo Cannone was sin-binned for illegally halting a rolling maul that also resulted in a penalty try for the visitors as they headed into the break with a 3-22 lead.

Italy showed better intention at the start of the second half when Sebastian Negri latched on a chip from Allan to score but their momentum once again came to a halt with Pierre Bruno yellow carded for making contact with the neck of Wyn Jones.

With the numerical advantage on their side, Wales went on to claim the bonus point through a try from Faletau that was set up by Rhys Webb. Williams' conversion meant Wales extended their lead to 10-29.

With 12 minutes left in the game, Ignacio Brex Juan scored a try following an offload from Bruno but with no further breakthrough for Italy, Wales went on to complete a 12-point victory.

Team line up:

Italy: Allan; Padovani, Brex, Menoncello, Bruno; Garbisi, Varney; Fischetti, Nicotera, Ferrari, N Cannone, Ruzza, Negri, Lamaro (capt), L Cannone.

Reserves: Bigi, Zani, Riccione, Lachizzi, Pettinelli, Zuliani, Fusco, Morisi.

Wales: L Williams; Adams, Grady, Hawkins, Dyer; O Williams, Webb; Wyn Jones, Owens (capt), Francis, Jenkins, Beard, Morgan, Tipuric, Faletau.

Reserves: Baldwin, Thomas, Lewis, R Davies, Reffell, T Williams, North, Rees-Zammit.