Match Centre: Heineken Champions Cup: Exeter 42-17 Stormers

Sam Simmonds was one of the try scorer for Exeter Chiefs
Sam Simmonds was one of the try scorer for Exeter Chiefs

Exeter Chiefs 42-17 Stormers, Sandy Park

Exeter Chiefs came up with a six-try performance as they went past Stormers to seal a 42-17 victory in the quarter-finals of the Heineken Champions Cup at Sandy Park on Saturday.

The Chiefs will now face the winner of La Rochelle and Saracens in the semi-finals of the competition.

The Premiership side got off to a flying start as fullback Tom Wyatt went over the line in the 12th minute after collecting a swift pass from fly-half Joe Simmonds, who slotted the conversion to make it 7-0.

Exeter doubled their tally as Jack Nowell picked up at the base of the ruck to score and shortly Olly Woodburn also went through after he was released by Sean O'Brien.

Joe Simmonds kicked both the conversions but missed a penalty goal at the stroke of half time as they scored 21 unanswered points in the opening half.

Rob Baxter's men extended their momentum into the second half as Sam Simmonds spotted a gap in the Stormers defence to burst through with Joe improving to make it 28-0 before Seabelo Senatla sent an offload for Damian Willemse to touchdown.

The end of the third quarter saw the South African side claim their second try with Seabelo Senatla offloading to Suleiman Hartzenberg but once again Manie Libbok missed out on conversion as the scoreline became 28-10.

With seven minutes left in the game, Jack Yeandle dotted down at the back of a line out maul before Marvin Orie and Tom Cairns exchanged tries as Stormers completed a 25-point victory to make it to the semi-finals.

Team line up:

Exeter: Wyatt; Nowell (c), Slade, O'Brien, Woodburn; J Simmonds, Becconsall; Sio, Frost, Street, Gray, Jenkins, Kirsten, Tshiunza, S Simmonds.

Reserves: Yeandle, Abuladze, Iosefa-Scott, Davis, Ewers, Cairns, Skinner, Hogg.

Stormers: Willemse; Hartzenberg, Nel, Du Plessis, Seabelo; Libbok, Jantjies; Kitshoff (c), Dweba, Malherbe, Van Rhyn, Orie, Pokomela, Dixon, Theunissen.

Reserves: Kotze, Vermaak, Fouche, Porter, Engelbrecht, Dayimani, De Wet, Blommetjies.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table