Match Centre: Chiefs 40-19 Brumbies

Luke Jacobson scored two tries for Chiefs
Luke Jacobson scored two tries for Chiefs
©Steve Haag

Chiefs 40-19 Brumbies, FMG Stadium Waikato

Chiefs ran a six-try riot as they maintained their winning start in the ongoing Super Rugby Trans Tasman campaign with a 40-19 win over Brumbies at FMG Stadium Waikato.

The win has taken Chiefs to the fifth place in the table with two wins from as many games while Brumbies are at seventh position after losing both their matches.

The Chiefs opened their account inside three minutes as Tupou Vaa'i touched down at the back of a line-out and rolling maul but Damian McKenzie missed out on the conversion.

The scores were levelled by the 12th minute when an inside pass from Ryan Lonergan allowed Len Ikitau dive in the corner but Noah Lolesio missed the extras. The home side upped the ante as they earned a 5m scrum as they pressed forward allowing Luke Jacobson to score the first of his two tries in the 21st minute.

The Chiefs' scrum were dominant once again as Jacobson completed his second in a similar fashion to the first in the 30th minute and McKenzie kicked both the conversions to ensure they completed the opening half with a 19-5 lead.

Chiefs extended their lead further early in the second half with a converted try from McKenzie and in the 51st minute a neat pass from Lachlan Boshier allowed Alex Nankivell to dot down making the scoreline 33-5.

Brumbies tried to get their way into the game with Bayley Kuenzle touching down in the 58th minute but their chances took a beating as they lost Darcy Swain was sin-binned for a high tackle on McKenzie in the 65th minute as Chiefs scored their sixth try with Anton Lienert-Brown crashing over after collecting an offload from Kaleb Trask making it 40-12.

With minutes left before full time, Rob Valetini scored a consolation try for Brumbies but Chiefs went on to record a 21 point win to keep their winning streak alive.

Team line up:

Chiefs: 15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Bailyn Sullivan, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Jonah Lowe, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Tupou Vaa'i, 4 Josh Lord, 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 Samisoni Taukei'aho, 1 Aidan Ross.

Reserves: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Zane Kapeli, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Xavier Roe, 22 Rameka Poihipi, 23 Kaleb Trask.

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Solomone Kata, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Ryan Lonergan, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Rory Scott, 6 Henry Stowers 5 Nick Frost, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Lachlan Lonergan, 1 Scott Sio.

Reserves: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Harry Lloyd, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Tom Hooper, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, 22 Bayley Kuenzle, 23 Mack Hansen.