Match Centre: Brumbies 61-10 Waratahs

Nic White was one of the try-scorer for Brumbies
Nic White was one of the try-scorer for Brumbies

Brumbies 61-10 Waratahs, GIO Stadium

Mackenzie Hansen scored a hat-trick as Brumbies trounced Waratahs 61-10 in the second round of Super Rugby AU at GIO Stadium on Saturday.

This is Brumbies' second win from as many games as they hold the top place in the table while Waratahs are languishing at the bottom.

Will Harrison started the proceedings for Waratahs with a fourth minute penalty goal but Rob Valetini muscled his way over the line in the 8th minute and Noah Lolesio followed with the conversion making it 7-3. The home side stretched their lead to nine points when Mackenzie Hansen dotted down in the left corner in the 12th minute.

Lolesio ensured it was total domination from Brumbies as he touched down at the back of a maul and also kicked the conversion on his try making the scoreline 19-3 before Waratahs made a brief comeback after Brumbies hooker Connal McInerney was penalised for offside and an attacking play saw Harry Johnson-Holmes cross the whitewash as the home side claimed the bonus point to take the scoreline 26-10.

Brumbies extended the momentum into the second half when Nic White broke off the back of the scrum for their fifth try in the 43rd minute and Hansen scored his second after making most of a long pass from Irae Simone.

There was no looking back for the hosts as Lachlan Lonergan dived over the line at the back of a driving maul to take the scoreline 47-10 before Hansen completed his hat-trick to take Brumbies' tally past the 50-point mark.

Tom Banks capped off a fantastic game for Brumbies as he intercepted a pass from Alex Newsome and was stopped before the line only for him to recycle the ball and complete the ninth try to seal a 51-point win.

Team line-up:

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Mack Hansen, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Nic White, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Jahrome Brown, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Connal McInerney, 1 James Slipper

Reserves: 16 Lachlan Lonergan, 17 Harry Lloyd, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Nick Frost, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Ryan Lonergan, 22 Reesjan Pasitoa, 23 Issak Fines-Leleiwasa

Waratahs: 15 Jack Maddocks, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Alex Newsome, 12 Tepai Moeroa, 11 James Ramm, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Jack Whetton, 4 Sam Caird, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Tom Horton, 1 Angus Bell

Reserves: 16 David Porecki, 17 Te Tera Faulkner, 18 Sio Tatola, 19 Jeremy Williams, 20 Hugh Sinclair, 21 Henry Robertson, 22 Tane Edmed, 23 Triston Reilly