Maro Itoje and Chris Robshaw returns to England squad

Maro Itoje is back from a knee injury
Maro Itoje is back from a knee injury

England coach Eddie Jones has named a 31-man training squad ahead of the fifth round of the Six Nations clash against Italy to be played at Twickenham Stadium.

The red rose team has already missed the chances of a Grand Slam following their 21-13 defeat to Wales in the previous round at the Principality Stadium and now will look to seize the top place with a convincing win over Conor O'Shea's men, who are on a 20-game losing streak in the competition.

Maro Itoje, who suffered a knee injury during the opening round against Ireland has been included along with former captain Chris Robshaw, who last played for the national side during the summer series last year before undergoing surgery on his knee.

Along with Iroje and Robshaw, Jonathan Joseph has also been recalled after he was initially expected to miss the entire tournament following ankle surgery. The squad also features uncapped pair Ben Earl and Ollie Thorley.

England are currently positioned second in the Six Nations table with 10 points from two games.

England's 31-man training squad


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ben Earl (Saracens), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Brad Shields (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons).


Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens) captain, George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Dan Robson (Wasps), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).