Josh Adams and Taulupe Faletau return to Wales XV for England game

Josh Adams has recovered from a calf problem
Josh Adams has recovered from a calf problem
©Steve Haag

Taulupe Faletau and Josh Adams have been recalled in Wales starting line-up for their third round of Six Nations clash against England to be played at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.

Louis Rees-Zammit misses out as reported earlier with Adams overcoming a calf injury to start at left wing with Alex Cuthbert, who will be making his 50th appearance at right.

Taulupe Faletau, who last played for Wales during the 2021 Six Nations has made a recovery from an ankle injury to take the number eight position with Ross Moriarty shifted to blindside and Taine Basham at openside.

Dan Biggar will continue to captain the side and will form half-back partnership with Tomos Williams while Owen Watkin ad Nick Tompkins continue their midfield partnership.

"We've looked at the opposition we're playing and niggly injuries that players pick up from time to time, and we think that in this particular match and the way the game will go, Alex and Josh are the right selections,"Pivac, Wales' head coach said.

"Clearly everyone loves playing at home and it's a first home game of the Guinness Six Nations for England. They will be tough opposition, they always are and both teams are still in this competition so there's a lot at stake."

Gareth Anscombe, who last played for Wales in autumn is on the bench along with Dewi Lake, Gareth Thomas, Leon Brown, Seb Davies, Jac Morgan, Kieran Hardy and Jonathan Davies.

Wales are positioned fifth in the Six Nations with a win and a defeat apiece in the two games.

Wales XV: 15. Liam Williams, 14. Alex Cuthbert, 13. Owen Watkin, 12. Nick Tompkins, 11. Josh Adams, 10. Dan Biggar (captain), 9. Tomos Williams, 1. Wyn Jones, 2. Ryan Elias, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Will Rowlands, 5. Adam Beard, 6. Ross Moriarty, 7. Taine Basham, 8. Taulupe Faletau.

Reserves: 16. Dewi Lake, 17. Gareth Thomas, 18. Leon Brown, 19. Seb Davies, 20. Jac Morgan, 21. Kieran Hardy, 22. Gareth Anscombe, 23. Jonathan Davies.