France v Wales - Match 1 Six Nations 2019 - Game details

The Stade de France will play host to the first Six Nations game of 2019
The Stade de France will play host to the first Six Nations game of 2019

The 2019 edition of Six Nations tournament will kick-start on 1st February in Paris with France locking horns with Wales.

With the World Cup set to take place in Japan later this year, both the teams seek to build momentum and get their combinations right ahead of the showpiece event.

This will also be the last Six Nations tournament for Wales under their long-term head coach Warren Gatland as he is set to leave the role post the World Cup with Wayne Pivac named as his successor.

Wales skipper Alun Wyn Jones and his men will be hoping for a successful tournament building on the momentum gained from the summer and autumn internationals from last year where they went on to win all the games, check out Rugby betting odds at 888sport.

Here are all the details you want to know on the encounter:

Date and Time: 1st February, 9pm local time

Venue: Stade de France, Paris

Broadcasters: BBC Sport, France2HD, Virgin Media, DMax, NBC Sports, S4C

Head to Head Record: The two teams have faced each other 98 times with France winning 45, Wales winning 50 and three ending draw. However, France have won 26 out of the 46 games played at home against Wales.

Their last meeting: The last time these two teams met was during the Six Nations tournament in 2018 at Principality Stadium where Wales edged out France 14-13.

Squad details:

France squad:

Forwards: Dorian Aldegheri, Gregory Alldritt, Uini Atonio, Demba Bamba, Pierre Bourgarit, Yacouba Camara, Guilhem Guirado (capt), Arthur Iturria, Felix Lambey, Wenceslas Lauret, Bernard Le Roux, Julien Marchand, Louis Picamoles, Jefferson Poirot, Dany Priso, Sebastien Vahaamahina, Paul Willemse

Backs: Mathieu Bastareaud, Anthony Belleau, Geoffrey Doumayrou, Antoine Dupont, Gael Fickou, Wesley Fofana, Yoann Huget, Camille Lopez, Maxime Medard, Romain Ntamack, Morgan Parra, Damian Penaud, Thomas Ramos, Baptiste Serin

Wales squad:

Forwards: Rob Evans, Wyn Jones, Nicky Smith, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Ken Owens, Leon Brown, Tomas Francis, Samson Lee, Dillon Lewis, Jake Ball, Adam Beard, Seb Davies, Cory Hill, Alun Wyn Jones (c), Ross Moriarty, Josh Navidi, Justin Tipuric, Josh Turnbull, Aaron Wainwright, Thomas Young

Backs: Aled Davies, Gareth Davies, Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar, Jarrod Evans, Rhys Patchell, Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Owen Watkin, Scott Williams, Josh Adams, Hallam Amos, Steffan Evans, Leigh Halfpenny, Jonah Holmes, George North, Liam Williams