Thomas Young included in Wales squad for Six Nations

Thomas Young has played two Tests for Wales
Thomas Young has played two Tests for Wales

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has included Wasps flanker Thomas Young in the 39-man squad for the upcoming Six Nations tournament.

Young, who joined Wasps in 2014 has already featured for Gatland's side in two Tests that came during the summer series in 2017 and will now look to revive his international career.

Alun Wyn Jones will captain the squad that has Rob Evans, Wyn Jones and Nicky Smith as loosehead props while Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias and Ken Owens are the preferred hookers.

Hallam Amos makes a comeback after recovering from injury while James Davies, Ellis Jenkins and Aaron Shingler are all sidelined along with recently injured Taulupe Faletau, who sustained a broken arm while playing for Bath.

The squad also includes Leigh Halfpenny and Ross Moriarty, who are currently recovering from concussions while Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Owen Watkin and Scott Williams comprise the centres in the 39-member squad.

“We are incredibly excited heading into the 2019 Guinness Six Nations and we are looking forward to kicking the tournament off in Paris against France,” said Gatland.

“We have a really experienced squad of players, who have been around a number of campaigns together and we feel we are in a pretty good place going into this huge year.

“We have got a few injuries and have selected a larger squad because of that. We initially selected 40 players but that was reduced to 39 on Monday with Taulupe’s injury ruling him out.

“Six Nations rugby is an important time of year for rugby fans, players and coaches alike and we are all looking forward to meeting up and preparing for this year’s championship.”

Wales will face France in their Six Nations tournament opener in Paris on 1st February.

Wales squad:

Forwards: Rob Evans, Wyn Jones, Nicky Smith, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Ken Owens, Leon Brown, Tomas Francis, Samson Lee, Dillon Lewis, Jake Ball, Adam Beard, Seb Davies, Cory Hill, Alun Wyn Jones (c), Ross Moriarty, Josh Navidi, Justin Tipuric, Josh Turnbull, Aaron Wainwright, Thomas Young

Backs: Aled Davies, Gareth Davies, Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar, Jarrod Evans, Rhys Patchell, Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Owen Watkin, Scott Williams, Josh Adams, Hallam Amos, Steffan Evans, Leigh Halfpenny, Jonah Holmes, George North, Liam Williams

Wales Fixtures


Wales Results