England leave out Billy Vunipola, Elliot Daly, George Ford in training squad

Billy Vunipola misses out on England selection
Billy Vunipola misses out on England selection

England coach Eddie Jones has left out Mako and Billy Vunipola, Jamie George, Elliot Daly and George Ford from the 45-man training squad ahead of the autumn international series.

Billy and Ford were rested for the summer series against USA and Canada while Mako Vunipola, Daly and George were part of the British and Irish Lions squad that recently lost to South Africa 2-1.

While Jones has included Joe Marler, Manu Tuilagi and Ben Youngs, the likes of Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Jonny Hill, Maro Itoje, Courtney Lawes, Sam Simmonds, Kyle Sinckler, Owen Farrell, Anthony Watson and Marcus Smith are back in the squad.

The squad also features eight uncapped players - Mark Atkinson, Jack Kenningham, Louis Lynagh, Gabriel Oghre, Raffi Quirke, Sam Riley, Bevan Rodd and Ollie Sleightholme while nine including Jamie Blamire, Trevor Davison, Alex Dombrandt, Joe Heyes, Lewis Ludlow, Adam Radwan, Harry Randall, Marcus Smith and Freddie Steward made their debut for the red rose team earlier in July.

“This is an exciting squad made up of experienced players and young guys who did well in the summer and have earned their place again,” Jones said.

“We have left out some experienced players but we’re really clear that the door isn’t closed to them and we’re looking forward to seeing them work hard to get back into contention.

“We have five campaigns now until the 2023 World Cup so each one counts, and this is a chance for this 45 to impress the new coaching staff.”

England's 45-man training squad:

Forwards: Jamie Blamire, Callum Chick, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Trevor Davison, Alex Dombrandt, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Joe Heyes, Jonny Hill, Ted Hill, Maro Itoje, Jack Kenningham, Courtney Lawes, Lewis Ludlam, Lewis Ludlow, Joe Marler, George Martin, Beno Obano, Gabriel Oghre, Sam Riley, Bevan Rodd, Sam Simmonds, Kyle Sinckler, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill

Backs: Mark Atkinson, Owen Farrell, George Furbank, Ollie Lawrence, Louis Lynagh, Max Malins, Joe Marchant, Jonny May, Raffi Quirke, Adam Radwan, Harry Randall, Dan Robson, Henry Slade, Ollie Sleightholme, Marcus Smith, Freddie Steward, Manu Tuilagi, Anthony Watson, Ben Youngs