England announce 34-man training squad ahead of summer series

Ellis Genge with 28 caps is the most experienced player named in the squad
Ellis Genge with 28 caps is the most experienced player named in the squad

England coach Eddie Jones has announced a 34-man squad for a five-day training camp ahead of the summer series.

With 12 players involved in the British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa while players from Premiership play-offs involving Bristol Bears, Exeter Chiefs, Harlequins and Sale Sharks also unavailable for selection, Jones has included 21 uncapped players, who will be assembling at The Lensbury on Monday.

George Ford and Jonny May have been rested for the July series while Mark Wilson and Ben Youngs are also missing leaving Ellis Genge with 28 caps the most experienced in the squad.

An updated squad will be named on 20th June as England's A side will be facing on their Scotland counterparts at Mattioli Woods Welford Road on 27th June. Jones is expected to make further changes to the squad before they host USA and Canada on 4th and 10th July respectively.

"This is the first squad of three and we’ll include players from the other clubs where appropriate, when they become available," said Jones.

"We’ve also given some of our senior players the chance to get some important rest and recovery time after back-to-back seasons, and with no proper pre-season."

"For this group it’s a chance to come into the England environment and really show what they can do. We expect them to be enthusiastic, full of energy and we want them to know there is no limit to their horizon.

"There is a lot of talent in this squad but the challenge for them is to turn talent into performance. We’re really looking forward to working with this group of young players and see where we can take them. They have the opportunity to take on the world."

England squad:

Forwards: Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons), Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons), Charlie Ewels (Bath), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints), Lewis Ludlow (Gloucester), George Martin (Leicester Tigers), Chunya Munga (London Irish), Beno Obano (Bath), Miles Reid (Bath), Sean Robinson (Newcastle Falcons), Jack Singleton (Gloucester), Sam Underhill (Bath), Harry Wells (Leicester Tigers), Tom Willis (Wasps)

Backs: Josh Bassett (Wasps), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath), Tom de Glanville (Bath), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints), Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish), Dan Kelly (Leicester Tigers), Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors), Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints), Max Ojomoh (Bath), Tom Parton (London Irish), Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons), Dan Robson (Wasps), Ben Spencer (Bath), Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers), Jacob Umaga (Wasps)


England Fixtures