Eight uncapped players in England's starting line up against the USA

Marcus Smith will make his England debut
Marcus Smith will make his England debut

England coach Eddie Jones has named eight uncapped players in the starting XV for their summer series clash against the United States at Twickenham on Saturday.

Uncapped Gloucester flanker Lewis Ludlow will captain the side and will start at blindside with Sam Underhill at openside and uncapped Newcastle's Callum Chick is positioned at number eight.

Josh McNally will make his international debut forming a second row partnership with his Bath team-mate Charlie Ewels. Sale hooker Curtis Langdon and Leicester prop Joe Heyes will join vice-captain Ellis Genge in a new look front row.

Harlequins fly-half Marcus Smith, who had an outstanding season will take the kicking responsibility forming halfback partnership with Bristol scrum-half Harry Randall, who will also make his debut for England.

Leicester's Freddie Steward is at fullback as he is another debutant named in the line-up while Max Malins and Joe Cokanasiga are at left and right wings with Henry Slade and Ollie Lawrence at midfield. Wasps fly-half Jacob Umaga will also make his debut for England when he comes off the bench that also has Jamie Blamire, Beno Obano, Trevor Davison, Ted Hill, Ben Curry, Lewis Ludlam and Dan Robson.

“Over the past three weeks our biggest message to the players is what an opportunity this is to show what they can do and make their mark with England,” said Jones.

“They’ve applied themselves as a group and worked very hard individually during this camp to reach their personal bests.

“Now it’s all about coming together as a team, gelling and putting in a good performance at the weekend.”

England starting XV: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Lawrence, 11 Max Malins, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Harry Randall, 8 Callum Chick, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Lewis Ludlow (c), 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Josh McNally, 3 Joe Heyes, 2 Curtis Langdon, 1 Ellis Genge

Reserves: 16 Jamie Blamire, 17 Beno Obano, 18 Trevor Davison, 19 Ted Hill, 20 Ben Curry, 21 Lewis Ludlam, 22 Dan Robson, 23 Jacob Umaga