Australia announce 40-man training squad

Australia head coach Dave Rennie
Australia head coach Dave Rennie

Australia head coach Dave Rennie has unveiled a 40-member squad that will take part in a three-day training camp on Gold Coast next month.

Rennie has rewarded Brumbies players for their impressive run in the ongoing Super Rugby Pacific where they have won all five games with 15 of them being part of the squad while Waratahs and Reds have 18 players combined.

Brumbies trio Cadeyrn Neville, Nick Frost and Ryan Lonergan, Waratahs fly-half Ben Donaldson and Reds full-back Jock Campbell are part of the eight uncapped players included in the squad.

“The nucleus of this squad has performed well for us over the past couple of years and there are others selected based on strong form and potential,” Rennie said in a statement.

“Over the past two seasons we’ve built a foundation we can propel our game from, but we know we have a lot more in us.

“We’ll use this camp to ensure players head back to Super Rugby clear on their point of difference and the parts of their game that need to be better to put pressure on us to select them for the 2022 Test season.”

Australia's international season will begin with a three-game home series against England on 9th, 16th and 23rd July following which they will compete in the Rugby Championship where they take on Argentina in the opener on 7th August in San Juan.

Australia training squad:

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies), Angus Bell (Waratahs), Folau Fainga’a (Brumbies), Nick Frost (Brumbies), Jed Holloway (Waratahs), Michael Hooper (Waratahs, c), Harry Johnson-Holmes (Waratahs), Feleti Kaitu’u (Western Force), Rob Leota (Melbourne Rebels), Lachlan Lonergan (Brumbies), Fraser McReight (Reds), Cadeyrn Neville (Brumbies), Matt Philip (Melbourne Rebels), David Porecki (Waratahs), Izack Rodda (Western Force), Pete Samu (Brumbies), James Slipper (Brumbies), Darcy Swain (Brumbies), Lachlan Swinton (Waratahs), Taniela Tupou (Reds), Rob Valetini (Brumbies), Harry Wilson (Reds)

Backs: Tom Banks (Brumbies), Jock Campbell (Reds), Ben Donaldson (Waratahs), Lalakai Foketi (Waratahs),Jake Gordon (Waratahs), Reece Hodge (Melbourne Rebels), Len Ikitau (Brumbies), Andrew Kellaway (Melbourne Rebels), Noah Lolesio (Brumbies), Ryan Lonergan (Brumbies), Tate McDermott (Reds), James O’Connor (Reds), Hunter Paisami (Reds), Izaia Perese (Waratahs), Jordan Petaia (Reds), Toni Pulu ( Western Force), Nic White (Brumbies), Tom Wright (Brumbies)