Alun Wyn Jones named on bench for Wales' match against South Africa

Alun Wyn Jones is the most capped player in international rugby
Alun Wyn Jones is the most capped player in international rugby

Wales head coach Wayne Pivac has named former captain Alun Wyn Jones in the bench for the first Test against South Africa in Pretoria on Saturday.

Jones, the most-capped player in international rugby last captained Wales in October last year during which he sustained a shoulder injury. Pivac has preferred Adam Beard and Will Rowlands at second row.

Dan Biggar will captain the side and will take the kicking responsibility with Kieran Hardy at scrum-half. George North has overcome his injury as he returns at outside centre forming midfield partnership with Nick Tompkins.

Louis Rees-Zammit and Josh Adams on the wings with Liam Williams at fullback while hooker Ryan Elias is joined in the front row by props Gareth Thomas and Dillon Lewis.

Leicester Tigers flanker Tommy Reffell will make his Wales debut and will be part of the back row that also has Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau.

"The guys have had a good build up this week, have really enjoyed each other's company and just being away in different surroundings," Pivac said.

"It is going to be a great atmosphere in Pretoria on Saturday, a great challenge and one we are looking forward to."

Team line up:

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 George North, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar (captain), 9 Kieran Hardy, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Tommy Reffell, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Adam Beard, 4 Will Rowlands, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Gareth Thomas

Reserves: 16 Dewi Lake, 17 Rhys Carre, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Josh Navidi, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Owen Watkin

South Africa: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nche

Reserves: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Elrigh Louw, 21 Kwagga Smith, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Willie le Roux