Alun Wyn Jones makes successful comeback as Lions beat Stormers 49-3

Alun Wyn Jones played for 27 minutes after coming off the bench in the second half
Alun Wyn Jones played for 27 minutes after coming off the bench in the second half

Stormers 3-49 British and Irish Lions, Cape Town Stadium

British and Irish Lions have rounded off their preparations for the upcoming three-match Test series against South Africa with a 49-3 victory over Stormers in the tour game at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday.

The game also saw Wales skipper Alun Wyn Jones, who made a successful recovery from a dislocated shoulder that he sustained during the match against Japan last month playing for 27 minutes after coming off the bench in the second half.

The result will be pleasing for head coach Warren Gatland, who saw the Lions go down to South Africa 'A' side earlier in the week and also had a chance to have a look at few players as he look to finalise his matchday squad for the first Test against the Springboks on 24th July.

The Stormers made two late changes to their side with Leolin Zas and Juan de Jongh replacing Seabelo Senatla and Rikus Pretorius.

The damp conditions tested both the teams with the opening points eventually coming in the 21st minute when Tim Swiel landed a penalty kick as Lions were punished after Hamish Watson was penalised for not releasing in a tackle.

Nevertheless, that remained their only points in the game as Lions responded back strongly in the 28th minute when Tadhg Furlong went past the defence of Stormers with a wide ball taken over by Josh Adams before Adam Beard sent on a perfect pass for Ali Price to score the opening try. Marcus Smith, who was making his Lions debut kicked the conversion to make it 3-7.

The visitors doubled their tally in the 33rd minute with this time Luke Cowan-Dickie showed his class as he pressed forward from a line out drive creating the gap to touchdown and Smith was once again spot on with the extras making it 3-14.

With the break approaching, Lions gathered the momentum and seized their third try when Jonny Hill dotted down following an offload from Stuart Hogg in the 40th minute and Smith's conversion meant Gatland's men completed the opening half with a 3-21 lead.

The Stormers had a chance to bounce back six minutes into the second half when Lions were penalised for off side and Swiel kicked to the corner but the attack ended with the visitors winning a free kick at line out. The Lions soon got their fourth try in the 49th minute when an inside pass from Smith to Elliot Daly saw Jack Conan diving over. Smith also impressed with another conversion making it 3-28.

The 53rd minute saw Jones coming off the bench for Adam Beard and he looked sharp making several tackles, absorbing blows to his left shoulder and came through unscathed. Lions had another opportunity at the end of the third quarter with Beirne looking set to score a try but was held up while another try was denied by the referee due to a forward pass from Duhan Van Der Merwe to Hogg.

Nevertheless, Lions eventually managed to fifth try in the 68th minute when Zander Fagerson powered his way over and six minutes later Smith released the ball for Louis Rees-Zammit to dot down before Sam Simmonds completed their seventh and final try in the 78th minute to complete a 49-3 win.

Team line up:

Stormers: 15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Rikus Pretorius, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Godlen Masimla; 1 Leon Lyons, 2 JJ Kotze, 3 Neethling Fouche, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (c), 5 JD Schickerling, 6 Nama Xaba, 7 Johan du Toit, 8 Evan Roos.

Reserves: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Thomas Bursey, 22 Abner van Reenen, 23 Juan de Jongh, 24 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 25 Niel Otto, 26 Leolin Zas, 27 Cornel Smit.

British and Irish Lions: 15 Stuart Hogg (c), 14 Josh Adams, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Ali Price; 1 Rory Sutherland, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 4 Adam Beard, 5 Jonny Hill, 6 Tadhg Beirne, 7 Hamish Watson, 8 Jack Conan

Reserves: 16 Jamie George, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Sam Simmonds, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Chris Harris, 23 Louis Rees-Zammit.