Wales hand Luke Morgan debut for Scotland clash

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has confirmed the squad to face Scotland
Wales head coach Warren Gatland has confirmed the squad to face Scotland

Ospreys winger Luke Morgan is set to make his debut for Wales after he was named in the starting line-up for the autumn international opener against Scotland to be played at Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

Former Wales Under 20 international Morgan is the all-time leading scorer for Wales Sevens and made his Pro14 debut for Ospreys at the start of the ongoing season.

The squad also sees a total of eight British and Irish Lions internationals returning including Jonathan Davies, who last played for Wales in November last year. Leigh Halfpenny will be at fullback along side George North at number 14 slot.

Gareth Anscombe has been handed the fly-half role with Jarrod Evans set to make his debut for the side from the bench. Alun Wyn Jones returns as captain and will form the second-row partnership with Cory Hill while Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty form the back-row.

Assistant coach Rob Howley stressed on the importance to start the autumn internationals well and is wary of the threat from their Six Nations rivals Scotland.

“It is great to reward players on form and we are looking forward to seeing Luke make his debut on the wing. He has come through the Sevens system, he will bring a point of difference to the squad and it’s a great opportunity for him.

"Likewise it will be good to see Jarrod from the bench and hopefully seeing some x-factor from him.

“We have created good strength in depth, especially from the summer and have a nice balance bringing seven Lions back into the team.

“We are very respectful of this Scotland team and are looking forward to what should be a great opening match.”

Wales XV: Leigh Halfpenny, George North, Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Luke Morgan, Gareth Anscombe, Gareth Davies, Ross Moriarty, Justin Tipuric, Dan Lydiate, Alun Wyn Jones (c), Cory Hill, Dillon Lewis, Ken Owens, Nicky Smith

Replacements: Elliot Dee, Rob Evans, Leon Brown, Adam Beard, Aaron Wainwright, Tomos Williams, Jarrod Evans, Steff Evans

Wales Fixtures


Wales Results