Leigh Halfpenny set to win 100th cap as Wales name side for England game

Leigh Halfpenny will become the ninth player from Wales to play 100 Tests
Leigh Halfpenny will become the ninth player from Wales to play 100 Tests

Leigh Halfpenny is set to make his 100th appearance for Wales as Warren Gatland has unveiled the matchday squad for their Rugby World Cup warm-up game against England to be played in Cardiff.

Halfpenny will become the ninth player from Wales to reach the milestone after Alun Wyn Jones, Gethin Jenkins, George North, Dan Biggar, Stephen Jones, Gareth Thomas, Martyn Williams and Taulupe Faletau.

He has been slotted at fullback while Louis Rees-Zammit will start at right wing with Rio Dyer on left. George North will start at outside centre and form midfield partnership with debutant Max Llewellyn.

Sam Costelow is named at fly-half alongside his Scarlets half-back partner Gareth Davies while injury to Faletau will see Aaron Wainwright start at number eight forming back row partnership with newly appointed skipper Jac Morgan and Christ Tshiunza.

Dafydd Jenkins and Will Rowlands will partner at second row while Keiron Assiratti, and Corey Domachowski are set to make their debut and are part of the back row that also has Ryan Elias returning as hooker.

"I'd like to make a special mention for Leigh," said Gatland.

"Reaching this milestone is an incredible achievement and testament to the player and person Leigh is. I know it will be a very special day for him and all his family.

"There are some tickets still available this weekend and we'd encourage as many fans as possible to come down to celebrate Leigh's achievement with us and see the new players making their Wales debuts."

Wales XV: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 George North, 12 Max Llewellyn, 11 Rio Dyer, 10 Sam Costelow, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Aaron Wainwright, 7 Jac Morgan (c), 6 Christ Tshiunza, 5 Will Rowlands, 4 Dafydd Jenkins, 3 Keiron Assiratti, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Corey Domachowski

Reserves: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Henry Thomas, 19 Ben Carter, 20 Taine Plumtree, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Dan Biggar, 23 Mason Grady