Team GB unveil squad for Tokyo Olympics

World Rugby Sevens Series leading try scorer Dan Norton is part of the squad
World Rugby Sevens Series leading try scorer Dan Norton is part of the squad
©World Rugby

The Team GB Women's and Men's Sevens squads have been confirmed for the upcoming Tokyo Olympics to be played next month.

Tom Mitchell will be leading the men's side that will have all-time World Rugby Sevens Series leading try scorer Dan Norton and Scotland 7s team captain Robbie Fergusson.

The Women's team will see Abbie Brown and Megan Jones co-captaining the side and will be joined by 2014 World Cup winner Natasha Huntalong with Brown and Jasmine Joyce.

“Selection was very tough. We’ve had 22 players involved in the programme since we started in March who have created a very competitive environment," said Women's head coach Scott Forrest.

"Every one of those players has been so important. And it’s not just about the successful 13 players who have been selected today.

"If we are successful in Tokyo, it’s going to be down to the whole squad, the whole 22 not just those who are going out to perform at the Olympic Games."

Men’s head coach Tony Roques is looking forward to the competition and is expressed confidence on the squad selected to perform well in the showpiece event.

“We’re massively grateful to the National Lottery for us to be on this journey together. We’ve become a very tight-knit group and everyone has contributed.

“It was really tough to deliver the news to a lot of people I’ve known for a long time. Ultimately, I feel I’ve done what was right for us to be successful at the Olympic Games. I’d like to congratulate those selected.

"They’ve worked extremely hard over the last few months and deserve this opportunity."

The men’s competition will take place between 26th and 28th July, with the women’s tournament following from 29th to 31st July with the gold medal match happening on ‘Saturday'.

GB Sevens Squad:

GB women: Holly Aitchison, Abbie Brown, Abi Burton, Deborah Fleming, Natasha Hunt, Megan Jones, Jasmine Joyce, Alex Matthews, Celia Quansah, Helena Rowland, Hannah Smith, Emma Uren.

Women's reserve: Lisa Thomson

GB men: Dan Bibby, Alec Coombes, Alex Davis, Robbie Fergusson, Harry Glover, Ben Harris, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Ross McCann, Max McFarland, Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton, Ethan Waddleton.

Men's reserve: Tom Bowen