Saracens defend Champions Cup title with 17-28 win over Clermont Auvergne

Saracens lift the trophy at Murrayfield
Saracens lift the trophy at Murrayfield

Clermont Auvergne 17-28 Saracens, Murrayfield Stadium

Saracens went on to retain the European Champions Cup title as they defeated Clermont Auvergne by 17-28 in the final at Murrayfield Stadium on Saturday.

After the first 10 points went scoreless, Chris Ashton scored the opening try in the 12th minute to get Saracens to a 5-0 lead. In the process, he also became the leading all-time try scorer in the Champions Cup but Owen Farrell missed out on the conversion for the Sarries.

George Kruis further extended Saracens domination with a touchdown in the 21st minute and Farrell's conversion made it 12-0 in favour of the the defending champions.

Centre Remi Lamerat ensured Clermont Auvergne get back into the groove with a cross over in the 26th minute while Morgan Parra's conversion meant they reduced the trail to five points heading into half time.

The second half saw the French side showing more intent testing Saracens in the breakdowns. Nick Abendanon try in the 51st minute reduced the gap further but a double penalty kick from Farrell meant Mark McCall's men had a slender one point lead heading into the final 10 minutes.

This is when Alex Goode scored the decisive try in the 72nd minute with Farrell ensuring a 11 point victory for the Sarries with a conversion followed by his third successful penalty kick.


European Rugby Champions Cup Points Table