Reds name unchanged side for play-off against Rebels

The winner of Saturday's encounter will face Brumbies in the finals
The winner of Saturday's encounter will face Brumbies in the finals

Queensland Reds head coach Brad Thorn has named an unchanged line-up for the Super Rugby AU play-off game against Melbourne Rebels to be played at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday.

There are two changes on the bench though with Jack Straker replacing Ruan Smith while Alex Mafi makes a comeback from injury in the place of Joshua Nasser.

“We’re unbeaten at home this season and hoping for another big crowd,” said Thorn.

“Queenslanders are some of the most passionate people and we thank our loyal fans for their support. We’d love a sea of maroon there on Saturday night – Queenslanders supporting Queenslanders.

“Finals footy – this is what we play for. Melbourne are a quality team and we’re expecting a tough contest.

“Well done to Alex and Lukhan on their 50th cap. It’s a great achievement to play 50 games for your state and as a group we congratulate them both.”

Queensland Reds starting line-up: 15 Jock Campbell, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Jordan Petaia, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Filpo Daugunu, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Liam Wright (c), 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Angus Blyth, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Harry Hoopert

Reserves: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 JP Smith, 18 Jack Straker, 19 Tuaina Taii Tualima, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Moses Sorovi, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Hunter Paisami

Meanwhile, Rebels have drafted Andrew Kellaway at right wing replacing Tom Pincus while Frank Lomani comes at scrum-half. The final change sees Brad Wilkin coming in back row in the place of Michael Wells.

Rebels starting line-up: 15 Dane Haylett-Petty (c), 14 Andrew Kellaway, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Matt To’omua, 9 Frank Lomani, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Brad Wilkin, 5 Trevor Hosea, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Cameron Orr

Reserves: 16 Efitusi Ma’afu, 17 Cabous Eloff, 18 Matt Gibbon, 19 Michael Stolberg, 20 Rob Leota, 21 Theo Strang, 22 Andrew Deegan, 23 Campbell Magney

The winner of the game will face Brumbies in the final of the Super Rugby AU in the final at GIO Stadium on 19th September.