Pro 12 all set to embrace South African teams - reports

Cheetahs and Southern Kings in action
Cheetahs and Southern Kings in action

Pro 12 is all set to become a 14-team competition from the 2017/18 season onwards after South Africa based clubs Cheetahs and Southern Kings are set to join the league.

According to a report in BBC Scotland, the meeting between the board members in Dublin ended on a positive note as the Pro 12 is planning strike a six-year deal with South African Rugby Union that will see them generate an added revenue of additional £6m every season.

Both Cheetahs and Kings already have lost their Super Rugby status and their final round ended last Saturday when both the teams faced each other.

The new 14-team competition will now see two conferences of seven sides each with two teams each from Wales and Ireland and one each from Scotland, Italy and South Africa.

Each team will play a home and an away fixtures against the sides in their own group and will also face the sides from the other conference at least once, making it 19 games per season for every team.

Meanwhile, both Cheetahs and Kings are likely to play their home games in United Kingdom with Saracens' home ground Allianz Park is being discussed as potential venue.