New Zealand Rugby name first ever Black Ferns 15s contracted squad

Kendra Cocksedge (centre) in action
Kendra Cocksedge (centre) in action
©World Rugby

New Zealand Rugby on Wednesday announced the first-ever Black Ferns contracts for 15s side with 17 players included from the 2017 Women's World Cup winning side.

Skipper Fiao'o Faamausili has put her retirement talks on hold as she is part of the 28-member squad that is a combination of experienced and young talents.

Black Ferns Head Coach Glenn Moore is delighted to see the return of Faamausili but insisted that the contract doesn't necessarily guarantee the players a spot in the playing squad and urged them to continue performing well at both club and international level to push for selections.

"We are thrilled to offer Fi a contract. She is as fit as she's ever been and is super passionate about being involved. There are a number of new faces among those named and to have Fi's skills and experience to call on will be invaluable.

"She also brings fantastic skills in her position and it's an area we need to develop with newer players. She can help us with that.

"Among this squad are a number of very talented young players who have been working hard in their clubs and Provincial Unions.

"Our talent identification programme has helped us develop depth in our wider player pool and the Black Ferns performance at the World Cup has given players something to aspire to.

"We have a Black Ferns training camp in mid-June when we'll get a much better idea of how everyone is tracking. There's also the possibility we'll offer a contract to players outside of the initial contracted squad."

Moore also confirmed that an additional two more players will be included in the contracted list with the team set to play a double-header against Australian counterpart in Sydney and Auckland in August before taking on USA Eagles at Soldier Field in November.

Black Ferns contracted players:

Chelsea Alley (Waikato)
Ariana Bayler (Waikato)
Grace Brooker (Canterbury)
Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Krysten Cottrell (Hawke's Bay)
Ruahei Demant (Auckland)
Kilistina Moata'ane (Otago)
Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali (Counties Manukau)
Kristina Sue (Manawatu)
Renee Wickliffe (Bay of Plenty)
Selica Winiata (Manawatu)

Eloise Blackwell (Auckland)
Les Elder (nee Ketu) (Bay of Plenty)
Fiao'o Faamausili (Auckland)
Dhys Faleafaga(Wellington)
Harono Iringa (Counties Manukau)
Aldora Itunu (Auckland)
Linda Itunu (Auckland)
Pip Love (Canterbury)
Charmaine McMenamin (Auckland)
Toka Natua (Waikato)
Joanah Ngan Woo (Wellington)
Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate (Counties Manukau)
Aleisha Nelson (Auckland)
Marcelle Parkes (Wellington)
Leilani Perese (Counties Manukau)
Aroha Savage (Counties Manukau)
Charmaine Smith (Auckland)