Match Centre: Gallagher Premiership: Newcastle Falcons 13-19 Leicester Tigers

Julian Montoya was one of the try scorer for Leicester Tigers
Julian Montoya was one of the try scorer for Leicester Tigers
©Steve Haag

Newcastle Falcons 13-19 Leicester Tigers, Kingston Park

Leicester Tigers managed to hold off Newcastle Falcons as they sealed a 19-13 victory at Kingston Park on Friday.

The win for the Tigers came despite an incredible ending which saw three yellow cards shown to Charlie Clare, Freddie Steward and James Whitcombe as well as 15 minutes of extra-time.

This was an eighth win for the Tigers in 14 games as they kept their hopes of a top four finish ailve.

Brett Connon kicked a long-range penalty to start proceedings in the first minute before Leicester struck back immediately when Jack van Poortvliet - on his first start in the Premiership this season - ran 20m to score the opening try. Handre Pollard kicked the conversion to make it 3-7.

The home side seized the lead back in the 18th minute when England Under 20 international Ben Redshaw collected a short pass from Cameron Hutchison to go over the line but his effort was negated when Argentina hooker Julian Montoya dotted down at the back of a maul to ensure the visitors completed the opening half with a 10-12 lead.

Newcastle were threatening early in the second half as Steward looked good to go over but was stopped by Tom Penny. Penny then kicked a 40m penalty in the 63rd minute to make it a one point game. Ollie Hassell-Collins provided some relief to the visitors with his third try in the corner making it 13-19.

However, the added time which took the game to almost 100 minutes saw three Leicester players sin-binned but despite the disadvantage, they managed to keep the Falcons in check sealing a thrilling win.

Team line-ups:

Newcastle: Obatoyinbo; Radwan, Penny, Hutchison, Redshaw; Connon, Stuart; Brantingham, Blamire, Palframan, Cardall, de Chaves, Van Der Walt, Chick, Cross.

Replacements: Byrne, McCallum, Bello, Hawkins, Kelly, Douglas, Jennings, Spencer.

Leicester: Steward; Bassett, Scott, Kata, Hassell-Collins; Pollard, van Poortvliet; Cronin, Montoya, Hurd, Wells, Hatherell, Liebenberg, Cracknell, Wiese.

Replacements: Clare, Whitcombe, Richardson, Carnduff, Ilione, Whiteley, Shillcock, Cokanasiga.

Widely regarded as the most competitive rugby union league in the can only be the Gallagher Premiership.

The division is becoming more and more exciting as each year passes by so who will be lifting silverware at Twickenham in May?

At Talking Rugby Union, we aim to provide match reports and news together with our specially commissioned features and interviews.