Match Centre: Gallagher Premiership: Harlequins 40-12 Newcastle Falcons

Alex Dombrandt was one of the try-scorer for Harlequins
Alex Dombrandt was one of the try-scorer for Harlequins
©Steve Haag

Harlequins 40-12 Newcastle Falcons, Twickenham Stoop

Harlequins came up with a six-try riot as they trounced Newcastle Falcons 40-12 in the fourth round of the Gallagher Premiership at Twickenham Stoop on Saturday.

The win has seen Harlequins move to the top of the table with 14 points while Newcastle are languishing at the bottom of the table after losing all their four matches.

Rory Jennings missed an early penalty chance for the Falcons, who were down by 14 players temporarily after Bryan Byrne was sin-binned for a deliberate knock-on near his own posts.

The Quins made use of the numerical advantage as Sam Riley dived in the right corner following a maul and 10 minutes later Dino Lamb dived under the posts. Jarrod Evans kicked both the conversions as Harlequins raced to a 14-0 lead in the opening 30 minutes of the game.

With the half-time approaching, the Quins extended their lead further with this time full-back Nick David went past a tackle to touchdown and Evans improved it to make it 21-0 by the end of the opening half.

The bonus point came in the 48th minute as skipper Alex Dombrandt collected an offload to dot down and Louis Lynagh followed the suit as Harlequins scored 33 unanswered points by the 53rd minute.

The end of the third quarter saw Quins lose Dino Lamb to yellow card for killing a ruck in his own 22 that also resulted in a penalty try for the visitors. With six minutes left in the game, Tyrone Green and Jamie Blamire traded tries as Harlequins went on to complete a comfortable victory.

Team line up:

Harlequins: David; Green, Beard, Anyanwu, Lynagh; J Evans, Porter; Baxter, Riley, Collier, Launchbury, Hammond, Lamb, W Evans, Dombrandt (capt)

Reserves: Jibulu, Marler, Lewis, Cunningham-South, Chisholm, Green, Smith, Bradley

Newcastle: Obatoyinbo; Radwan, Moroni, Orlando, Carreras; Jennings, O'Sullivan; Brocklebank, Byrne, Tampin, Rubiolo, McDonald, Cross, Pepper, Chick (capt).

Reserves: Blamire, Brantingham, Bello, Hawkins, Bainbridge, Stuart, Connon, Wacokecoke.

Widely regarded as the most competitive rugby union league in the can only be the Gallagher Premiership.

The division is becoming more and more exciting as each year passes by so who will be lifting silverware at Twickenham in May?

At Talking Rugby Union, we aim to provide match reports and news together with our specially commissioned features and interviews.