Match Centre: Crusaders 21-24 Chiefs

Richie Mo'unga finished on the losing side
Richie Mo'unga finished on the losing side
©Steve Haag

Crusaders 21-24 Chiefs, Organgetheory Stadium

Rameka Poihipi scored a try in the added minutes as Chiefs came from behind to stun Crusaders with a 24-21 margin in the latest round of the Super Rugby Pacific at Organgetheory Stadium on Saturday.

This is first defeat for Crusaders in four games as they slipped to the third place in the table while Chiefs are at fifth position.

Richie Mo'unga started the proceedings for Crusaders with seventh minute penalty goal but the lead did not last long as Shaun Stevenson showed incredible speed to beat three defenders after collecting an offload from Emoni Narawa to touchdown. Bryn Gatland kicked the conversion as Chiefs raced to 3-7 lead.

The 19th minute saw David Havili crossed over after collecting an offload from Mo'unga, who missed out on the conversion. Gatland's penalty kick in the 30th minute put Chiefs in front but Crusaders went into the break with a 14-10 lead following two more three-pointers from Mo'unga.

Crusaders were the quickest to get off the block in the second half as a multi-phase attack led to Braydon Ennor's try in the 45th minute and Mo'unga's conversion made it 21-10.

Nevertheless, the remainder of the game was dominated by Chiefs as they created an overlap for Stevenson's second try and in the added minutes they created the space in the right corner for Rameka Poihipi to dot down. With Gatland kicking both the conversions right, Chiefs went on to complete a four-point victory.

Team line up:

Crusaders XV: 15 Will Jordan, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Braydon Ennor 12 David Havili, 11 Leicester Fainga’anuku, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Tom Christie, 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Fletcher Newell, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.

Reserves: 16 Brodie McAlister, 17 George Bower, 18 Tamaiti Williams, 19 Mitchell Dunshea, 20 Cullen Grace, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Fergus Burke, 23 George Bridge

Chiefs XV 15 Emoni Narawa 14: Shaun Stevenson 13: Anton Lienert-Brown 12: Quinn Tupaea 11: Etene Nanai-Seturo 10: Bryn Gatland 9: Xavier Roe 8: Pita Gus Sowakula 7: Sam Cane 6: Kaylum Boshier 5: Brodie Retallick 4: Tupou Vaa’i 3: Jermaine Ainsley 2: Samisoni Taukei’aho 1: Aidan Ross

Reserves: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 George Dyer, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Laghlan McWhannel, 21 Cortez Ratima, 22 Rivez Reihana, 23 Rameka Poihipi.