Leinster beat Munster 13-3 to reach Pro14 final

Johnny Sexton kicked two penalties and a conversion
Johnny Sexton kicked two penalties and a conversion

Leinster 13 - 3 Munster, Aviva Stadium

Leinster maintained their perfect run in the ongoing 2019/20 season of Pro14 as they defeated their Irish rivals Munster 13-3 at Aviva Stadium on Friday to book a berth in the final.

Leinster will now face the winner of Edinburgh and Ulster game in the final of the tournament that will be played on 12th September. This was also the third straight semi-final exit for Munster at the hands of Leinster.

The game started with slippery conditions after a downpour 10 minute before the kick-off time and it was Munster, who got the first points in the game with a sixth minute penalty kick from JJ Hanrahan.

With Munster struggling to convert their efforts into points, Leinster made use of the opportunities and went on to score the only try in the game in the 28th minute when Ronan Kelleher went over the line at the back of the rolling maul.

Johnny Sexton on his 100th appearance in Pro14 kicked the conversion and at the stroke of half-time also kicked a penalty goal to ensure Leinster had a 10-3 lead at the end of the opening half.

Munster already had injury problems heading into the encounter and their problems compounded as Andrew Conway left the field and their Golden Boot winner Hanrahan kicked two penalties wide playing into the hands of Leinster.

Sexton with a three-pointer in the 68th minute extended Leinster's lead to 10 points which proved enough despite losing Josh van der Flier to sin-bin in the 76th minute.

Team line-ups:

Leinster starting XV: Larmour; Keenan, Ringrose, Henshaw, Lowe; Sexton (c), McGrath; Healy, R Kelleher, Porter, Toner, Fardy; Doris, Connors, Conan.

Reserves: Cronin, E Byrne, Bent, Baird, Van der Flier, Gibson-Park, R Byrne, O'Loughlin.

Munster starting XV: Daly; Conway, Farrell, de Allende, Earls; Hanrahan, Murray; Loughman, N Scannell, Archer; Beirne, Holland; O'Mahony (c), O'Donoghue, Stander.

Reserves: O'Byrne, Cronin, Ryan, Coombes, Cloete, Casey, R Scannell, Wycherley.